Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Looking for a bit of guidance on some wiring I'm helping a friend with at his new sto

This is a discussion on Looking for a bit of guidance on some wiring I'm helping a friend with at his new sto within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A friend of mine is opening a business and asked if I could lend a hand doing some wiring for


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2013, 08:50 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64



A friend of mine is opening a business and asked if I could lend a hand doing some wiring for ethernet and telephones. I work with ethernet all the time so that's no problem for me, but I'm a little foggy with the phone wiring.

We're installing a few wall jacks around the store which will have either two ethernet jacks or an ethernet and telephone jack. For the phones, the wiring that has already been ran for him contains 4 single wires within it: black, red, white and silver metal without shielding. The telephone jacks that we have for the phones are 6 position 4 conductor. At the back of the store Bell has ran a 25 pair (if I recall correctly) cable to a BIX [1] . The only thing patched into the BIX is a wall jack that has two wires punched into pins 3 and 4 on it.


My questions are:

How do I know which pins on the BIX that I punch the 4-conductor cabling into, and the layout for connecting the 6p4c wall jack)

One of the wall jacks has two ethernet cables ran to it. How do I use one of those ethernet cables for telephones (using the 6p4c wall jack and punching down at the BIX)?


I have been watching a bunch of youtube videos and checking out directions on it, but it seems that there's a few different ways to do this so clarification is really what I'm looking for.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
nameisname is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2013, 11:28 PM   #2
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


Using ethernet cabling for phone is the same as using standard 2- or 4-pair CAT3.

If you don't have a butt set or a test jack at the main block, you need to punch a pair of wires into a test jack to determine which pairs carry your phone signal (you'll need an actual phone to test this; an analog phone is best). Once you know which pairs are the right ones, pick a color pair in your outgoing wire and use that. Normally the first line will use the red and green wires, while the second line would typically be black and yellow. With 4-pair CAT5, pick any pair you like, but be consistent or the next person to come along and do work on the wiring will want to murder you.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 10-21-2013, 05:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64



Thanks for the reply! One more follow-up question please. There's a tag hanging from the panel which have three phone numbers labelled BP1) 5656, 2) 5655, and 3) 5858. [This is the patch panel where the Bell line comes in](https://i.imgur.com/Yk40zEH.jpg). Off this panel there are two wires going to a wall jack (https://i.imgur.com/ZaHKSA8.jpg) with the number 5655 labelled on it. I have wired all the phone wall jacks with a 6p6c cat3 jack (https://i.imgur.com/qVpOSmA.jpg), using ethernet cable White/Orange, Blue, White/Blue, Orange on pins 2, 3, 4, 5.

I assume I need to take all the White/Orange, Orange pairs from each telephone line and punch it into the block for line one, and punch all the Blue, White/Blue pairs to the block for line two. Punch a line down for the fax (White/Orange, Orange from the dedicated fax jack). I'm just not sure where on the block I'm actually supposed to punch the pairs down to for the two phone lines, fax and dsl. Any and all help appreciated.

Thanks again!
nameisname is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2013, 12:37 PM   #4
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


If you're running all the lines back to the Bell block, you will probably need a secondary 110 punch block. Then run the line pairs to it, and jumper from that to as many sections as you need lines. Your block isn't designed to have numerous lines running from a single wire pair.

You're looking for something like this: Telephone Punch Block 66B4 25 | eBay
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] XP BSOD
After a few months (almost) free of the dreaded blue screens, I have just started to have them regularly again. Please find attached the test file
Dylanatstrumble BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 25 01-18-2013 07:08 AM
BSOD Windows 7
Hi guys, I have a BSOD problem. Model: HP Pavilion g4 Notebook PC OS: Windows 7 System type: 64-bit Memory (RAM): 4GB Graphics: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 Video card: Radeon (TM) HD 7670M
darkumo BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 11-27-2012 07:14 PM
BSoD in 10 minutes after startup
Have recently bought a new computer and built it from scratch. I've been having problems with blue screen in the first ten minutes after I cold start it but after that the computer usually works without problem until the next day. I have been running memtest a few times and it havn't found any...
Serpentario BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 28 11-14-2012 11:09 AM
Installing Windows 7 64 bit and more RAM for gaming, need some guidance thanks!
Graphics Card :ASUS 1GB ATI RADEON HD6770 PSU : Corsair 550W 41A on +12V Proccessor: AMD Phenom 9650 Quad Core 2.3GHz x 4 OS: Windows Vista 32 bit RAM:Kingston 4 Gig ddr2 (PC2-6400) (SPEED-400MHZ) Motherboard : Asrock K10N78M Samsung S24A300BL 23.6 Inch Slim LED Monitor Hardrive : Maxtor...
Reece12sky PC Gaming Support 18 03-09-2012 06:12 AM
Helping a friend with a slow computer
I've been tasked by a friend to help with a computer that's running a lot slower than usual. I've uninstalled a bunch of unnecessary programs, performed the steps in the "Is your PC running slow...?" thread, and had Avast scan it thoroughly in safe mode and performed a boot-time scan. Avast found...
Mister_S Resolved HJT Threads 8 10-14-2011 08:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts