Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Linksys Router and my Dell Optiplex

This is a discussion on Linksys Router and my Dell Optiplex within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a linksys wireless router, with 2 laptops attached, a wireless print server, credit card machine, and a desktop


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2009, 11:32 AM   #1
Automotive Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,233
OS: Xp Pro SP3



I have a linksys wireless router, with 2 laptops attached, a wireless print server, credit card machine, and a desktop running xp. Both laptops stay shut down unless I want to go walk around the house and have internet.
When my desktop goes to sleep for the night, I have to reset the linksys before I can use the internet because it will not have me connected. I have assigned all machines and printers local IP addresses via the linksys system manager software. Everything works fine when the linksys is reset, but why am I having to reset the router?
lcurle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2009, 01:09 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
RockLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 293
OS: Windows 7 Beta Build 7000, XP Pro SP3



Are you sure its a router issue? Sometimes there are setting in the Network cards that will turn the card off to save power if the computer goes to sleep.
RockLee is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:33 PM   #3
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



What's the exct make/model of the Linksys router? Is there a separate broadband modem, if so make/model of that device?

What is the type of service you have, DSL, cable, fiber?
johnwill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2009, 06:47 PM   #4
Automotive Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,233
OS: Xp Pro SP3



Cable Modem Motorola Surfboard -> Linksys WRT54G -> Computers
lcurle is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:29 AM   #5
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Some things you can try here.
  1. For wireless connections, change the channel on the router, I like channels 1, 6, and 11 in the US.
  2. For wireless connections, try moving either the wireless router/AP or the wireless computer. Even a couple of feet will sometimes make a big difference.
  3. Update the firmware to the latest version available on the manufacturer's site.
  4. Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.
  5. Update the network drivers (wired and wireless) on your computer to the latest available.

Many times these measures will resolve a lot of intermittent issues.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:48 PM   #6
Automotive Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,233
OS: Xp Pro SP3



Router is up to date with firmware. The router is wireless and wired, only the computers that are wired are having issues, the wireless can connect.
lcurle is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 08:53 AM   #7
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



I'd have to believe this is something going south on the router if more than one cable and more than one wired computer is having an issue after a factory reset and reconfiguration of the router. I'm assuming you've tried wiring a computer directly to the modem and not had any problems?
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 08:53 AM   #8
Automotive Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,233
OS: Xp Pro SP3



correct, this only happens when the computer goes into standby, when I wake it up I have a few minutes of internet before the router drops and I have to unplug the power cable and plug it back in. That usually takes care of it.
lcurle is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 05:04 PM   #9
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Check the power saving options in Device Manager for the NIC and turn them all off.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 03:40 PM   #10
Automotive Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,233
OS: Xp Pro SP3



the box "Allow windows to turn this device off to save power" for my broadcom ethernet adapter was checked, I unchecked it. We will see if this helps.
Thanks JW
lcurle is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 03:22 PM   #11
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Let us know if that does the trick.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 06:09 PM   #12
Automotive Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,233
OS: Xp Pro SP3



same results, wake computer up from sleep, can use the internet for about 3 minutes before the router loses connection to the modem.
lcurle is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 08:15 AM   #13
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Probably time for a new router.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 07:23 AM   #14
Automotive Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,233
OS: Xp Pro SP3



only about a year old, that sucks maybe it is time to go with a dlink instead of linksys
lcurle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts