Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Laptop stopped picking up a particular network?!

This is a discussion on Laptop stopped picking up a particular network?! within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, I have a Toshiba laptop that was picking up the Belkin router that we have fine for nearly


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2009, 03:00 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
OS:


Confused

Hi everyone, I have a Toshiba laptop that was picking up the Belkin router that we have fine for nearly a year when fairly recently when I go to connect to network, that network isnt there. A PC that we have in the house picks up this network fine even though the PC is upstairs (the router is downstairs) and I have tried sitting next to the router with my laptop and it still doesnt appear. The wireless switch is turned on on my laptop and I have no idea what else to try. Any ideas? Any help is appreciated, thank you!
Jess09x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2009, 04:42 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,639
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Is this wireless card picking up other wireless networks?
Is the any errors in the Device Manager (Yellow !?, or Red x)?
Bill
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 04:57 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
OS:



yes, the laptop picks up other wireless networks. I'm not great with all the technical stuff sorry how do i tell what errors there are in the device manager? thanks
Jess09x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2009, 05:36 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,639
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


If you can pickup other networks your wireless card should be OK.
But to get to the Device Manager (for XP):
Start>My Computer>Properties>Hardware Tab>Device Manager.

If you have a different OS please post it.

Have you powered cycled the Modem/Router/Computer?

Turn of all systems (Unplug the form the power sorce)
Power up the Modem first and wait until all lights are steady (about 3 min). If it has a battery backup remove the battery also.
Power up the router second and wait about three minutes.
Power up each computer and wait until it obtains an IP address. On the wireless ones see if you can "see" your Network
See if you can connect to the internet.
Bill
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts