Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Is it possible to install a fully functional Virtual NIC on windows 10?

This is a discussion on Is it possible to install a fully functional Virtual NIC on windows 10? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, What I am after is a second network interface on my windows 10. Using the Microsoft loopback adapter doesn't


Like Tree1Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2018, 01:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:


Question

Hi,

What I am after is a second network interface on my windows 10. Using the Microsoft loopback adapter doesn't work as you cannot ping this interface from another pc on the same network. it only works on the local machine for testing purposes.

What I want is to install a fully functional nic on my windows 10 so that I can route traffic through different NICs with different applications.

Is this even possible and if so....how?

Thanks
Wolvy
wolvyreen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2018, 02:32 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



You might find more info here https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...or=-2147217396
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 02:38 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Thank you but this is for a Virtual Machine itself. I want to install and configure a virtual network adapter on my Windows 10 PC.
wolvyreen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2018, 02:43 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



There are a couple of videos here https://www.google.com/search?q=win+...t=firefox-b-ab see if that is more in keeping with your idea.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 02:44 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



I did do a lot of searching already. nothing definitive to speak of. none of those videos is relating to what I need. they all mostly relate to virtual machines or a Microsoft loopback adapter. Appreciate your help but I need something more concrete.
wolvyreen is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 02:49 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



I think you may need to use Hyper V to achieve your goal but wait a little and a networking staff member or member can confirm or refute my supposition.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 02:51 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
I think you may need to use Hyper V to achieve your goal but wait a little and a networking staff member or member can confirm or refute my supposition.
Thank you very much...Thats what I suspect too but my problem is that Hyper-V doesn't work on Windows 10 Home. Only Pro.

Also, I am quite gobsmacked that we can install entire Virtual OS's but not a single virtual adapter to speak of.
wolvyreen is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 02:53 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



I have put a call out for someone to come in and have a look here so please be patient as there may not be anyone on line right now.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 02:54 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
I have put a call out for someone to come in and have a look here so please be patient as there may not be anyone on line right now.
WOW! Thank you so much really appreciate the effort you are making for me....
wolvyreen is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 02:58 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



Your welcome, we try.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 07:15 AM   #11
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,600
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



VirtNet ?

Found it mentioned in this thread on Social.TechNet.Microsoft.com: https://social.technet.microsoft.com...tpronetworking
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 08:44 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



@SpywareDr This looks exactly like what I am looking for and I have downloaded it and installed it like a normal network adapter but the adapter is not getting an IP from my DHCP server. So when I set a static IP I can ping the ip from the same host but not from any other host.

So I have no idea how to get this thingamig working...

any ideas?
wolvyreen is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 09:04 AM   #13
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,600
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Unfortunately no, sure don't. Might try rattling someone's cage over on social.technet.microsoft.com?
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 09:14 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



sigh....thank you so much for trying to help.

It just seems that without doing 6 backflips, 4 somersaults, and pulling teeth from chickens, this is impossible to do.

I would have thought that someone had solved this type of problem by now.

ugh!
wolvyreen is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 09:26 AM   #15
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by wolvyreen View Post
sigh....thank you so much for trying to help.

It just seems that without doing 6 backflips, 4 somersaults, and pulling teeth from chickens, this is impossible to do.

I would have thought that someone had solved this type of problem by now.

ugh!
Maybe the solution you think you need is not the best or easiest way of doing this. Perhaps the answer is right in front of you and you're simply not accepting it as such (Virtualization). Someone's signature here goes something like "just because you know what you want, doesn't mean the plan you have for getting it is right".
Stancestans is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 09:27 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Maybe the solution you think you need is not the best or easiest way of doing this. Perhaps the answer is right in front of you and you're simply not accepting it as such (Virtualization). Someone's signature here goes something like "just because you know what you want, doesn't mean the plan you have for getting it is right".
sure, im open to suggestions....fire away
wolvyreen is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 09:57 AM   #17
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,600
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/vir...-v-on-windows/


?
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 10:00 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
OS:



Hyper-V is not available for Windows 10 home edition.
wolvyreen is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 10:07 AM   #19
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,600
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Third-party virtualization software?

VNIC? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solari...e_control#VNIC

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Networ...virtualization

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_virtualization
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 10:19 AM   #20
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by wolvyreen View Post
sure, im open to suggestions....fire away
https://www.virtualbox.org/
Stancestans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ESET threats
In earlier message, and in continuation of another thread on another conmuter I started a thread stating that having tried ESET it had found a number of threats which i will mention at the end. meanwhile I ran DDS abnd will add the the logs. Gmer found rootkit activity but when I ran the scan on...
qimqim Inactive Malware Help Topics 13 12-13-2013 07:22 PM
Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2
Hi Everybody, I have this issue with my computer: Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2 have been detected by Antivir and, though removed, reappear at the PC reboot. Avira RealTime Protection keeps sending alerts, detecting unspecified viruses with access denied. Several of the directories...
beppe1968 Resolved HJT Threads 81 03-15-2012 11:19 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts