Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

how to connect internet in two laptops with a broadband LAN connection

This is a discussion on how to connect internet in two laptops with a broadband LAN connection within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello Everyone i am having a broadband Lan connection. i want to connect internet in two laptops using this broadband


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2014, 07:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
OS: windows 8.1



Hello Everyone

i am having a broadband Lan connection.

i want to connect internet in two laptops using this broadband lan cable.

one way to do it is ,buy a router(but costly).

i searched on google and found a device known as LAN splitter.
here is the link.


RJ45 Network Cable Y Splitter 2 WAY Double Adapter 3 Port Ethernet LAN Coupler | eBay

so can i use such type to connect internet over two laptops using a ethernet lan cable broadbond.

Thanx
askpcp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2014, 09:29 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



No, that will not work
you will need a router

if you look down the item you posted , you will see your question is answered there
Quote:
NOTE:Only one port works at one particular time. Dont use both of the ports at one particular time.
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 10:45 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14
OS: win xp



Hay i have provide the some steps to connect the internet in Two PC. I think it is more help to you.

Quote from How to connect Two PC and Share BroadBand Internet in windows Seven/Vista | Shafiul Azam's Weblog
Quote:
Now, when you install the new LAN card on PC1, you can find a new Icon on Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections.

Now, Double clidk on the icon of new lan card, Click Properties. From the property window, double click on Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IP). A new window will appear

Now, Right click on the icon of the old LAN card which is connected to internet (in my case “citycom”) and go to Properties. Now, click on the sharing tab, and put tick on the sharing option.

You’re almost done! One final step, now go to PC2. Go to Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections. Then Right click on the icon of the LAN card, go to properties, double click on Internet Protocol version 4 (TCP) and set everything default (Obtain IP address, DNS automatically)

Now connect the new lan card of PC1 with PC2 using the cross-over cable, and you can enjoy networking and internet.
LottieWinde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2014, 11:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
OS: linux



Firstly you need a network crossover cable. Available from most computer stores. This is a special type of cable (not a standard LAN cable)

Secondly Make sure both computers are on the same workgroup. TO do this Right click on My computer, Properties, go to the Computer Name Tab, See what is written in Workgroup. Change one computer by clicking on change and then type in the name of the other computer in the workgroup space down the bottom. Do not make the computer part of a domain. You want Workgroup.

This name change will require a computer reboot.

When both computers are on the same workgroup, we need to set IP Addresses.

In Control Panel, Open Network Settings.
Right click on Local Area Connections and select properties.

Under the heading "This connection uses the following items, Find Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
Highlight it, Make sure you don't untick the box, and click on properties
Under the heading Use the following IP Address ENter in the Following on ONE Computer.

IP Address 192.168.0.10
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway LEave Blank

Under the Heading Obtain DNS Serveraddress automatically
Set this to Automatic. Don't enter anything in.

On the second computer Make the IP Address 192.168.0.20
Everything else the same.

This should be all.
AllenConnell is offline  
Old 11-14-2014, 07:25 AM   #5
Networking Team |Tech
 
Shadowjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 144
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64; Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenConnell View Post
Firstly you need a network crossover cable. Available from most computer stores. This is a special type of cable (not a standard LAN cable)

Secondly Make sure both computers are on the same workgroup. TO do this Right click on My computer, Properties, go to the Computer Name Tab, See what is written in Workgroup. Change one computer by clicking on change and then type in the name of the other computer in the workgroup space down the bottom. Do not make the computer part of a domain. You want Workgroup.

This name change will require a computer reboot.

When both computers are on the same workgroup, we need to set IP Addresses.

In Control Panel, Open Network Settings.
Right click on Local Area Connections and select properties.

Under the heading "This connection uses the following items, Find Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
Highlight it, Make sure you don't untick the box, and click on properties
Under the heading Use the following IP Address ENter in the Following on ONE Computer.

IP Address 192.168.0.10
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway LEave Blank

Under the Heading Obtain DNS Serveraddress automatically
Set this to Automatic. Don't enter anything in.

On the second computer Make the IP Address 192.168.0.20
Everything else the same.

This should be all.
That's just to create a point-to-point LAN connection between the laptops .... no internet connectivity...

Josh
Shadowjk is offline  
Old 11-18-2014, 10:23 AM   #6
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



And modern network hardware supports mdi/mdix so a crossover is no longer needed.

This is also a old thread and will now be closed.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FBI.Cybercrime lock-out
Hello and thank you in advance for helping me. I am locked out of my computer with a notice from "FBI.Cybercrime" to pay a fine or the FBI will be here to haul me off to prison. I received a suggestion that through Bleeping Computers I would find the instructions to follow for self help removal...
Cathy95820 Resolved HJT Threads 34 05-06-2013 03:49 AM
DDS Report. How Long?
Following advise from a forum mod i am following the steps to run the DDS & GMER reports so i can post them with details of my system problems. I have ran the GMER report with no issues but when i ran the DDS yesterday it ran for over 5 hours without producing anything? It was also at this...
cDubya Resolved HJT Threads 44 08-28-2012 06:27 AM
Computer Virus/Trojan Problems
Amateur. First may I thank you for responding to my request for help. I have compiled the following List of Problems that I am aware of on my computer. Windows is being stopped from updating. Trend Micro is being stopped from updating.
Jack Willday Inactive Malware Help Topics 65 07-13-2011 12:57 AM
Possible virus/trojan?
Hi I have a Dell Inspiron desktop (Vista, SP1) which will not run any Microsoft updates, I am wondering whether it might have been affected by a virus. I have run an attached the reports you asked for. To date I have run Malwarebytes and Norton Internet security. I still cannot run updates...
Tiridhe Resolved HJT Threads 12 05-21-2011 06:35 PM
pix firewall 515E internet problem
Hello this is my pix firewall 515E configuration. Password: Type help or '?' for a list of available commands. pixfirewall> en Password: pixfirewall# show runn : Saved :
uzairsiddiqui Security and Firewalls 0 04-27-2011 05:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts