Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Help with my Belkin Wireless G card

This is a discussion on Help with my Belkin Wireless G card within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I try to play on xbox live, I use the network bridge in my xp in order to connect, but


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2009, 07:18 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



I try to play on xbox live, I use the network bridge in my xp in order to connect, but my wireless disconnectes after about 1 or more minutes of turning my xbox on, it stays disconnected for about 10 seconds then it connects again, then it goes away again. When Im not playing my xbox, the connection still drops, but less frequent, i still dont want it to drop
My Wireless Card is Belkin Wireless G Desktop Card, with latest drivers, the LAN card is Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated controller, im running Windows XP Home Edition SP3, my Anti Virus and security is PANDA Internet Security.
Im also using the WZC.


Thanks in Advance
patsfan20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2009, 08:47 AM   #2
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Are you sure you don't have the Belkin wireless client running as well? Normally, frequent drops like this are two clients fighting for control of the wireless connection.

The other area that could be an issue is wireless interference, have you tried changing the router's wireless channel? I like channels 1, 6, or 11 in the US.
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 03:27 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



Yes, im sure its close, my routers channel is 11, both my mom and dad have a laptop, both sony vaio, they dont have my problem, ive been doing some research and someone said that it could be becuase if xp sp3, in unistalled it, so now i have sp2, it still dropped, i also read that sometimes a bad pci slot could make it drop, so i just switched the slot, i havent tested it yet with my network bridge
patsfan20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2009, 12:18 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



it still drops after switching PCI slots, what else can it be, and when i say connction drops, i mean that the connection to the router drops
patsfan20 is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 05:46 PM   #5
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



I'd still try changing the channel, it's easy to change it back if that's not the issue.
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 03:58 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
I'd still try changing the channel, it's easy to change it back if that's not the issue.
here when i type ipconfig /all in CMD this is what i get while the network bridge is on

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : rickyrd2-0a618d
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge (Network Bridge) 22:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-17-3F-34-8A-B7
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 167.206.245.129
167.206.245.130
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 09, 2009 6:45:10 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 16, 2009 5:24:10 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
patsfan20 is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 07:35 AM   #7
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Well, I see a WINS Proxy Enabled, what's that about?

Let's do this.

Remove the bridge configuration from the networking.

Do the following stack repair.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.



Post an IPCONFIG /ALL before you restore the bridge configuration, but after you have established the wireless connection.
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts