Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Ethernet not working

This is a discussion on Ethernet not working within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi apologies for starting back up an old post but my problem is similar. I am in a new country


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2014, 11:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7



Hi apologies for starting back up an old post but my problem is similar. I am in a new country and only have an ethernet cable (no wifi) with my acer aspire. I bought a konig device which changes ethernet to USB but despite installing the driver completely, my Internet is still not working. I did the ipconfig /all and this is what came up for the ethernet adapter local area connection section:

Connection - specific DES Suffix . : WAR 61413906083
DHCP Enable ................................. : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enable ............ : Yes
Link - local IPv6 Address .............. : fe80: :706a :5e88 :8ef3 :f612%22 (Preferred)
Subnet Mask ................................. : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained ............................. : Wednesday, 6 August 2014 7:52:50th
Lease Expires ................................ : Thursday, 7 August 2014 7:52:49 AM
Default Gateway............................. : 10.90.90.1
DHCP Server .................................. : 10.90.90.1
DHCPv6 IAID .................................. : 553651910
DHCPv6 Client DVID ...................... : 00-01-00-01-19-C7-2A-E3-7A-DE-2B-DD-CE-96

DNS Servers ................................... : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. ...................... : enabled

Then it talks about wireless can adapter

Please give me any advice to fix the problem as I am very desperate. Thanks in advance
lozzhao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2014, 06:27 AM   #2
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Welcome to TSF!

I broke your post out to be on its own.

DNS Servers ................................... : 192.168.1.1
this is a invalid dns entry. It should be 10.90.90.1

go into tcp/ip properties and the dns tab then remove the 192.168.1.1 entry. Set to get automatically
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 08-07-2014, 12:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7



I am in copenhagen , does that make a difference to the DNS entry? Because it is already on automatic
lozzhao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-07-2014, 01:39 PM   #4
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



It is picking up that bad dns entry from somewhere.
If not from under the DNS tab then from the router itself.

Does not matter if you are in Copenhagen. The end result is you have no name resolution. This means you can't type in google.com for example. You have to type in 74.125.239.32 which is the ip address of google to then get to google. Dns is what take the name and translates it to the ip address and visa versa.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wired Ethernet not working, Wi-Fi is working after new router install
Our router's power adapter died, and I went to the store to buy a new router. Our router's model was a D-Link DIR-615, and the new one was a D-Link N300. When we installed the new router the Ethernet didn't work although the Wi-Fi did. We tried switching the old router back in with the new power...
Redwing940 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 06-10-2013 06:42 AM
Clean install, download drivers, ethernet not working.
I recently had to perform a clean install of our family computer, which has NVIDIA GeForce 1650SE nForce 430 integrated. After the install was done, our video, SMbus, Ethernet, and Audio did not work. After several incidents involving frustration and downloads, I managed to get all but the ethernet...
Chibitech Driver Support 5 02-25-2012 01:37 AM
ethernet port not working
Hi guys, i have an hp pavilion dv6645us running win7 , it was running fine until it overheated and i decided to open the laptop and clean it with compressed air. when i put it back together i noticed that Ethernet was not working ? I notices the drivers where not working so i reinstalled the...
jamunrl Laptop Support 14 08-31-2011 03:51 PM
I need help finding the correct driver software to get my ethernet controller working
This is my motherboard. I installed the NVIDIA MCP61 Chipset/VGA Drivers as suggested by MSI customer service. No dice. There is still a little yellow triangle next to my ethernet controller in device manager saying no drivers are installed. Any help would be appreciated :D
frightlin Driver Support 2 03-04-2011 07:56 PM
Incomplete XP sp3 Ethernet Boot-Up
PC Hardware Troubleshooting - Ethernet Network Interface Initialization Problems Hardware: A 6-year old Gateway 825 GM Desktop Computer - Windows XP MCE 2005 SP3 - Phoenix BIOS - Built-in Marvel Yukon 88 E 8050 Gigabit Ethernet - Hard wired with an Ethernet cable to a D-Link DIR 825 V 1.01 Router...
emg-gwy Other Hardware Support 2 01-15-2011 08:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts