Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

dumb question

This is a discussion on dumb question within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This is probably a dumb question but I got a new Network card recently that can run at 10/100/1000 Mbps


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2008, 12:02 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
OS:


Question

This is probably a dumb question but I got a new Network card recently that can run at 10/100/1000 Mbps but I connect via two different routers

one that comes from the main line and another that splits that to go to my comp and PS3

now my computer says that it can't run "1000 Mbps Auto Negotiate"
so essentially im stuck at 10/100 Mbps now here's the question

Is there something I need for my actual comp to run at 1000 mbps or do my routers also need to be gigabit routers
badass_salazar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2008, 07:53 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 86
OS:



Hey badass,

Each network component (i.e PC NIC and router) must be gigabit rated to be able to transfer data at that speed.
ExMachina is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:59 AM   #3
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Actually, each network component IN THE DIRECT PATH needs to be gigabit capable. I have a standard 100mbit router, but all my machines connect to a gigabit switch and have gigabit connectivity between them.
johnwill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2008, 04:15 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
OS:



oooooohhhhh

i figured that was the case

thanks for the help
badass_salazar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts