Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Do I really need shielded ethernet cables at home?

This is a discussion on Do I really need shielded ethernet cables at home? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Long story short I want to wire some ethernet cables from router to other rooms through walls at my home.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2017, 12:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
OS: win 7



Long story short I want to wire some ethernet cables from router to other rooms through walls at my home. There is short area (maybe like 4 metres) where ethernet cable will go near power cables (in parallel), so was wondering how much of a difference is FTP over UTP in this case? I read that in order for shielding to be effective all parts of the line must have shielding, not only cables, but also plugs, wall sockets and it has to be grounded. I am starting to have a headache just by thinking about this. Is it worth it performance wise? What do you think?
Toshis8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2017, 06:11 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Best practice is to avoid power lines whenever possible. Maintain as much physical separation as possible when it's necessary to be near them. I try to maintain at least 6 inches to a foot.
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 04-02-2017, 12:27 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



" FTP over UTP "
You mean STP not FTP as in file transport protocol vs shielded twisted pair

"in parallel"

You have nothing to be concerned about as long as you keep the 6" to a 1ft distance between the two.

There is no "performance" issue/difference between shielded and unshielded cable.

You use shielded when traversing emf generating equipment like shop tools, generators, high power sources, etc. Use a gauss meter to measure your EMF
GentleArrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2017, 11:37 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
OS: win 7



Thanks! I am leaning towards UTP and keeping distance from other wires as much as possible/where possible.

Regarding the "FTP", I thought that it is correct as it stands for "foil shielded twisted pair", manufacturers use this, for example:
LAN cables
FTP, STP, SFTP, F/FTP seen many different ways it was named, a bit chaotic :)

Regarding the cables running in parallel and performance, packets of data get lost due to interference from external electromagnetic fields?

somewhat related example:



Also, question, will there be any interference if I run 4 UTP cables close to each other(in one group)? Will they interfere each other?
Toshis8 is offline  
Old 04-04-2017, 08:22 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



no problem in a group. we do it all the time with hundreds of lines.

You would think they would call it FSTP instead of FTP which has been around longer that twisted pair.
GentleArrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on two ethernet cables
Hi I am wondering how i can use two ethernet cables for both my xbox and computer while i only have one ethernet port. I know i can use a ethernet splitter because they need to have two addresses so i probably need a hub. can the following product work? Amazon.com: TRENDnet 5-Port GREENnet...
andorrak Networking Support 7 07-14-2011 11:59 AM
how to join two broken ethernet cat 5 e cables
Hi, One of our ethernet CAT5e is cut off (broken). Now I want to join them instead of putting new cable and doing thing all over again as it is too long. I would like to know is it possible? If yes, how it can be done? Thanks.
comonforall Cabling and Network Cards 2 07-13-2011 04:32 PM
How to I join two ethernet cables ?
How to I join two ethernet cables without using a switch ? They are same as cat5 cables right ? Is there some sort of adapter to connect two together ? If so, what is it called ? Are they cheap to buy ?
zhong Networking Support 1 03-20-2011 08:16 AM
Help planning home network
I have been doing a lot of research and am trying to plan a home network. My computing power in the home has grown and I am sick of the copy to flash drive exercise. My wife runs a home business and she has a desktop in the upstairs office and a netbook that goes everywhere with her. I have a media...
larryo108 Cabling and Network Cards 4 02-12-2011 01:33 PM
Incomplete XP sp3 Ethernet Boot-Up
PC Hardware Troubleshooting - Ethernet Network Interface Initialization Problems Hardware: A 6-year old Gateway 825 GM Desktop Computer - Windows XP MCE 2005 SP3 - Phoenix BIOS - Built-in Marvel Yukon 88 E 8050 Gigabit Ethernet - Hard wired with an Ethernet cable to a D-Link DIR 825 V 1.01 Router...
emg-gwy Other Hardware Support 2 01-15-2011 08:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts