Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Disabling my laptop from internet access

This is a discussion on Disabling my laptop from internet access within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a laptop currently running windows 8 I plan to have this laptop strictly offline due to the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2015, 07:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
OS: win7



Hello, I have a laptop currently running windows 8

I plan to have this laptop strictly offline due to the sensitive nature of the data on it

Aside from physically disabling the hardware such as the ethernet port, wireless card and the bluetooth. which i believe to be integrated to the motherboard, i would like to know of all the different methods of disabling their function, i do not know all of the different methods but have done a couple things.

What I have tried: I went into the device manager and disabled all of the networking drivers and bluetooth drivers. this may be enough, but i am a man of overkill. double-tapping the issue may put me more at ease.
DaruDaru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2015, 08:15 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,602
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Welcome to TSF!

Software settings can be changed back much easier than trying to repair intentionally disconnected|disabled|damaged hardware.

I'm just saying ...
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 06-21-2015, 01:34 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I wouldn't disable the hardware as you never know what problems can ensue from that why not just pull the ethernet cable or turn off the wireless signal. Most laptops have a combination of keys to do that or a switch on the outside of the laptop.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2015, 01:48 PM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,602
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Often timers the a laptop's WiFi card comes out farily easily. For example:

https://www.google.com/search?q=leno...ptop+wifi+card
SpywareDr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
search netsite virus
I am having trouble with the browser redirect virus. When I click a website on the google search page it takes me to search netsite webpage. If I paste that url directly there is no issue. Tried all anti virus, malware, spyware, combifix and so on.. nothing works pls help
amy123a Inactive Malware Help Topics 25 03-20-2012 10:58 PM
no internet access after virus
recently had win 7 2012 virus, removed virus, now cannot connect to any internet. troubleshooting states can not detect networks proxy settings. i dont know what any of following report means, but thought it might help. Farbar Service Scanner Ran by haley (administrator) on 09-01-2012...
cody7880 Resolved HJT Threads 65 01-18-2012 10:32 AM
Antivira AV virus - Help appreciated
Hi there My pc picked up a nasty virus called Antivira AV rendering it pretty much useless. Itís a bogus virus scanner that automatically seems to close down Windows Defender and take over. I canít use Internet Explorer and also canít go in the Task Manager, when I press Ctrl alt delete it...
Jvdbliek Resolved HJT Threads 18 03-03-2011 09:34 PM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 12:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts