Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Cat 5e T568B Termination

This is a discussion on Cat 5e T568B Termination within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all. I recently started learning how to terminate Cat 5e and 6 network cables. I read up on the

Closed Thread

Old 04-03-2015, 09:08 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast

My System

Hello all. I recently started learning how to terminate Cat 5e and 6 network cables. I read up on the subject and also watched a few YouTube videos to learn the basics.

Today I went and bought a Racheting Crimper and a few RJ-45 connectors. I already had a 50' piece of Cat 5e so I got started.

From looking at the attached picture, did I terminate both these ends correctly?

I want to say yes because I tested this piece of cable on my laptop connected to my router and the connection is good. Did a few pings and stuff and everything seemed good to go. No loss of packets.

Reason I ask is because from looking online and seeing various pictures of the color pin outs on an RJ-45 connector, it looks like mine is backwards.

What should be the number 1 pin position for the Orange/White wire, on the ones I terminated it's the Brown wire. Number 2 pin position which should be the Orange wire, I have the Brown wire. Number three which should be Green/White, I have Green. Number 4 which should be Blue, I have Blue/White.

I think you guys get the picture. So based on the color pin out and the pin number locations, I want to say I did it wrong. But if so, how come I had no issues with the LAN connection?

I'm I confusing myself here? I hope I don't sound like a total dummy. Again, I'm just learning this stuff and want to know how to do it correctly.

I look forward to hearing back from the rest of the members.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1428120467537.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	192.3 KB
ID:	227058  
Sponsored Links