Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Can't get network to work

This is a discussion on Can't get network to work within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm having a lan in our barn so i have a cable from our house out to the room we

Closed Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 08:23 AM   #1
Registered Member

Question

I'm having a lan in our barn so i have a cable from our house out to the room we are playing in, I'm not sure how long it is but i think a hundred meters or something.

But for some reason this is not working (It has worked before)
I have tested the cable with a cable tester - all fine
I have tried connecting the router outside to the router inside using a normal cable (Tested it inside next to he modem router) - all fine
And i have tried A Netgear powerline thingy and nothing works
And i have tried the cable directly into my pc- not working

I'm not very good with this so I'm not sure what to do next.
The cable is a cat5e.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-04-2013, 08:51 AM   #2
TSF Emeritus

Welcome to TSF!

How long is the cable exactly? 100meters is the max you can go and should not go any farther.

Did you or someone else put the ends on the cable or was this premade?
What kind of cable tester did you use and what test(s) did you perform?
Old 09-04-2013, 09:09 AM   #3
Registered Member

Dad got the cable a long time ago, it was without ends just a long cable.
But he's not home right now so i have to wait for him to get home to ask how long it is, as for the other stuff

I made the ends, and the test looks a bit like this: RJ45 RJ11 Cat5e Cat6 Network LAN Cable Tester Test Tool | eBay
1-8 lights up fine The only one not lighting up is G.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-04-2013, 09:30 AM   #4
TSF Emeritus

Do they all light up like 1 to 1, 2 to 2, 3 to 3?

Which wiring standard did you use? 568 A or B?
Old 09-04-2013, 12:15 PM   #5
Registered Member