Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Call Me Stupid but how exactly would I wire this socket?

This is a discussion on Call Me Stupid but how exactly would I wire this socket? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. I'm very new to network wiring but I just can't seem to understand this. I want to wire it

Closed Thread

Old 07-21-2015, 10:58 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi.

I'm very new to network wiring but I just can't seem to understand this.

I want to wire it with the B configuration but it just doesn't make sense to me.

Thank you in advance!

Can anyone help?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-21-2015, 11:14 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking

Nothing stupid about asking a question mate :)

The cable pin-outs should match the number on the socket:

1 - Orange/White
2 - Orange
3 - Green/White
4 - Blue
5 - Blue/White
6 - Green
7 - Brown/White
8 - Brown

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
Old 07-21-2015, 11:20 AM   #3
Moderator - Networking

Couple of cabling tips as well :)

Cut a long end off the sheath of the cable (a couple of inches is enough), untwist the wires, and put the individual wires as far down into the clip as you can. The ends of the cabling should point out towards the edges of the socket. Then punch down the cables.

Make sure you have your punch down tool cutter facing the same direction as the cable ends, otherwise you'll snip the wires and have to start over!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-21-2015, 11:52 AM   #4
Registered Member

Hi!

Thanks so much for your reply!

If I wired it like this then it's correct? Yay for MSPaint (You'll have to use your imagination and replace the words with the colour of the wires lol)

Thanks for the tips too! I've never done this before and you've been really helpful!