Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

cable for speed

This is a discussion on cable for speed within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Which cable to use for good internet speed?


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2014, 12:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
OS: windows 8



Which cable to use for good internet speed?
anshuman1100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-12-2014, 12:32 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


what do you mean?

Do you mean CAT 5 etc? CAT 5e is the best CAT 6 doesn't really offer much for normal users
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 01-13-2014, 01:05 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
OS: windows 8


Thanks brother......
anshuman1100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2014, 01:06 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
OS: windows 8


Can you tell me difference between cat 5e and cat 6?
anshuman1100 is offline  
Old 01-13-2014, 01:53 AM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



Cat5e vs Cat6 - Difference and Comparison | Diffen see the info in the link
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-13-2014, 10:02 AM   #6
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



"Which cable to use for good internet speed?"

cable doesn't determine the speed of a connection per say.

lets say you have a..
10mb connection between router and modem you would use a cat5 cable which is rated to 100mbps
100mb connection between router and modem you would again use cat5 cable.
Now if 1000mbps between router and modem you would use cat5e or cat6 cable.

But if your isp is only providing you with a 10mb down and 5mb up connection it really doesn't pay to have a gig connection between the modem and router.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low cable on Toshiba 32c110u
I made the transition from project on to lcd. I was very impressed. The only issue I'm having, is that it won't connect to cable box. The older TV had no problem. I have suddenlink cable, and the rest of my house has no issue with signal. When I hooked it up, it said antenna signal was low, so...
Johnnysauur Electronics 1 10-18-2013 06:41 AM
[SOLVED] HDMI-HDCP Cable Problem
Hello! Just today I bought a 10 meter HDMI cable. When I connect my TV with my Cable TV Decoder using the said HDMI cable, the decoder said that the TV does not support HDCP. Since I once connected the TV to my PS3, I think the TV is HDCP-compliant. To further test the cable, I plugged it to...
Perseonn Other Hardware Support 8 08-04-2013 06:08 AM
Ethernet Cable Mix n' Match
So I'll just explaining this as quick as possible, and the frustration it brings me. I just brought my computer back to the family home for the summer. Say I have Ethernet Cable A (3 ft.) and Ethernet Cable B (100 ft.) Mom's Computer: Recognizes Ethernet Cable A and both B and provides...
MisterYu Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 06-29-2013 05:16 PM
Another cable connected but no internet access problem.
OK, Ive read several forums on this issue and nothing is working. I have plugged my computer into the modem by way of a Ethernet cable and I immediately got a Local Area Network 2 icon that said a network cable is unplugged. Ive checked the cable with this PC, and it works. i tried this:...
publiccovert Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 14 03-08-2011 09:00 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in todayís modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts