Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Wireless suddenly super slow on D-link router

This is a discussion on Wireless suddenly super slow on D-link router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey there. So yesterday I noticed my download speed was running pretty slow and ran a few speed tests to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2016, 09:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 32
OS: OS X Yosemite



Hey there.

So yesterday I noticed my download speed was running pretty slow and ran a few speed tests to confirm. I'm in the UK - we currently are on BT Infinity Fibre package so should be getting speeds of around 35MB.. usually I get download speeds of 4MB/s... the last couple of days I have however not been getting more than 700KB/s.

Because the main router in the lounge doesn't reach our bedroom, we cabled another router in via ethernet and use this for the wireless in the bedroom. This router is the D-link DIR-632 and we haven't had any problems prior to this. The speed has always been top-notch.

However, judging by running speed tests in the lounge, we found that the speeds are fine there, whereas the speeds in the bedroom from the D-link router are what are performing slowly.

We have run many speed-tests, reset both routers, and I've run some analysis, but it doesn't seem like there's any reason for it to be running so slowly?!
We had it on Channel 11 for the past year as that was what was the least busy channel in the apartment block we are in, but to test whether that was the issue, we changed it to Channel 6 in the hope it may fix things.
Alas, it hasn't made a difference.

Is there any other options or troubleshooting we can try? I'm not really sure what else could be affecting it.
When I've ran wifi analyzer on my Android phone it states the latency is too high (but I'm not sure what to do about that?) and sometimes that link speed is too slow or channel overlapping, but it fluctuates a lot.
There are 6 apartment buildings in the block so I'm not sure what channel we could possibly leave it on for the least interference!

If anyone has any ideas on what else to do though, we would be very grateful :)
lawliet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2016, 11:04 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



download and run xirrus wifi inspector. post a screen shot of what it sees.
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 03-01-2016, 11:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 32
OS: OS X Yosemite



I only have a macbook but I may be able to get my partner to download it on his win laptop.

Is there any similar program for mac?

We've also noted that it's really erratic, as in one speedtest we will get 3MB and the next we will get 8MB... it's not the main router and the ethernet tests we have done have all come back fine. So it's gotta be a wireless fault or interference?
lawliet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IP-VPN behind a wireless router
I access the internet through a netgear wireless router connected to an adsl modem. I also have a technicolor 546v6 wired router connected to a separate phone line used as a vpn network, currently this router is connected to my nic and I used route ADD to route 10.2.2.0 ip to this router. Ive made...
Nebelung Networking Support 0 12-29-2012 12:09 PM
computer with wireless cannot detect ANY network in the area
Hello, All. I am recycling old computers and, out of the salvageable parts in such computers, I am rebuilding computers for needy families for Christmas.. Recently I came up against three problems (# 1 and # 2 are related to an old ECS P4M900T-M Socket 775 DDR2 motherboard. The computer came...
Mike Sturgeon Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 12-13-2011 09:36 PM
Wireless router to wireless router help
Hi all, I'm after so some much needed advice re: home networking so here's hoping - any help would much appreciated. I'm currently tyring to set up a Netgear N150 wireless router (client) in my bedroom so it connects to a Virgin Media router downstairs (master) via wireless (not by ethernet)...
vin_unleaded Cabling and Network Cards 5 12-02-2011 12:32 AM
dlink wireless router suddenly stopped working
Hi, My dlink dir 628 wireless router suddenly stopped working yesterday. If I plug the ethernet cable directly into my computer and the internet works. I see the wireless profile in the options for the wireless internet, but when I try to connect, it is unable to do so. I've tried resetting...
technaive Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 4 10-05-2011 04:36 PM
Help with VOIP router and Wireless Router Configuration
Hey fellas? I'm trying to set up a voip router at work but I'm currently stuck. Hope someone can help me out with this. This is what I have. 1. A wireless dlink router - DIR-655. 2. A poe switch - DES-1008P. 3. A VOIP router - DVX-7090. 4. A few ip phones. 5. A few ip cameras. This is...
manizzi Protocols and Routing 0 02-04-2011 01:49 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts