Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Wireless internet connected but no internet

This is a discussion on Wireless internet connected but no internet within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone, I have connected my laptop to my home WIFI. Everything was fine for months and months until yesterday


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2016, 03:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7



Hello everyone,

I have connected my laptop to my home WIFI. Everything was fine for months and months until yesterday the internet stopped working on my laptop.


The wifi is connected successfully and it has internet aces as other devices at my place are running it as well as my pc which is wired to it . So the internet is not the issue.

There is something wrong with the laptop i guess. I have connected the laptop to several working wifi connections successfully but after connecting no web page opens or no internet activity can be done.

please help.

Thanks.
Dsoumil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2016, 03:57 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Lets take a peek at your network environment:

First:

Power Cycle everything . . Turn off the Modem, router and all pc's . . turn on the Modem and wait a few minutes for the lights to stabilize . . then turn on the router, then one pc at a time. See if you connect to the internet.

Then:

Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again.

How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7 ( This is for Windows 7 but the steps are virtually the same for 8 and 10

Then: check your browser's settings, remove any proxy settings if found, here's how


Then:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type or copy and paste the following command:

ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0

and press enter.

Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

then please Download and run this Xirrus WiFi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here. For Vista and Windows 7, 8 you can use the Windows Snipping Tool
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-23-2016, 04:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7



Tried every step. Still didnt work.

PS- the Xirrus WiFi Inspector stops responding on startup at "Searching for adaptors" part.

Heres the 0.txt

Quote:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : V-VAIO
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-0F-6E-F7-D6-B5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::25f3:f815:8391:71cc%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, March 24, 2016 4:23:56 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 30, 2152 10:58:13 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 189534062
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-0D-A1-62-F0-BF-97-10-57-47
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Dsoumil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2016, 04:10 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



What real-time protection is running? Antiviurs? . . Firewall?

The ipconfig looks ok . . let's look deeper . .

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type or Copy and Paste the following" and press enter


echo > 0 & PING 192.168.2.1 >> 0 & PING 46.228.47.115 >> 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & tracert google.com >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0


That can take a few minutes to complete, come back and past the result in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-23-2016, 04:16 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7



I dont have any antivirus and my firewall is disabled.
But a strange thing is happening, whenever i open my firewall window, it closes automatically.

here is the results from that command.

Quote:
ECHO is on.

Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

Pinging 46.228.47.115 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 46.228.47.115:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

Pinging google.com [216.58.199.174] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=58
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=58
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=58
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 216.58.199.174:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 1ms

Tracing route to google.com [216.58.199.174]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms . [192.168.2.1]
2 2 ms 1 ms <1 ms 90-231-119-111.mysipl.com [111.119.231.90]
3 4 ms 2 ms 2 ms 89-231-119-111.mysipl.com [111.119.231.89]
4 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 72.14.196.213
5 3 ms 1 ms 1 ms 209.85.142.228
6 2 ms 1 ms 2 ms 209.85.143.5
7 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms google.com [216.58.199.174]

Trace complete.
[/php]
Dsoumil is offline  
Old 03-23-2016, 05:15 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You connection to the internet is fine . . What Browser are you using?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-23-2016, 07:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7



i am using google chrome, there are no proxies there i checked. And i have tried using other browsers as well, no luck.
Dsoumil is offline  
Old 03-24-2016, 06:00 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



With no anti-virus you may have picked up a bug . . :

Suggest you download these and run scans:

Microsoft Security Esentials

Malewarebytes
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-24-2016, 06:09 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7



doing that now. will keep you posted.
Dsoumil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 08:33 PM
Computer Virus/Trojan Problems
Amateur. First may I thank you for responding to my request for help. I have compiled the following List of Problems that I am aware of on my computer. Windows is being stopped from updating. Trend Micro is being stopped from updating.
Jack Willday Inactive Malware Help Topics 65 07-13-2011 12:57 AM
pix firewall 515E internet problem
Hello this is my pix firewall 515E configuration. Password: Type help or '?' for a list of available commands. pixfirewall> en Password: pixfirewall# show runn : Saved :
uzairsiddiqui Security and Firewalls 0 04-27-2011 05:16 AM
Antivira AV virus - Help appreciated
Hi there My pc picked up a nasty virus called Antivira AV rendering it pretty much useless. Itís a bogus virus scanner that automatically seems to close down Windows Defender and take over. I canít use Internet Explorer and also canít go in the Task Manager, when I press Ctrl alt delete it...
Jvdbliek Resolved HJT Threads 18 03-03-2011 09:34 PM
Viruses/Malware...google redirect/ad background/etc
Got a few problems on my hands and hope it is not beyond repairable, reformat. I have the google redirect that is happening, also have a talking ad background that I do not know where it comes from. All browsers are closed and it still comes up. Also, I get a bubble pop sound all the time,...
uofmx12 Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-10-2011 10:24 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts