Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Wireless connection strength fluctuation and disconnects

This is a discussion on Wireless connection strength fluctuation and disconnects within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I use an ADSL connection. I use it alone for laptop and smart phone-however sometimes when i have guests at


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2017, 09:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 8



I use an ADSL connection. I use it alone for laptop and smart phone-however sometimes when i have guests at home they too get to use it for the time being. Apart from that no one has the password or access to use my wi-fi. So as i still think.
But a month or so it happened - that when ever i open a chrome or any other apps that require wi-fi - the internet icon shows the fluctuation in its strength - from High up to the last low. WHen it happens the website or any apps are all jammed and hang up. Again the strength regains then the apps work... The fluctuation happens very frequent. 2/3 times in 5 minutes.. It is very annoying. So recently i tried to enter the Internet Getaway and tried 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.0.1 to see what is really happening.. I can not enter the Getaway admin page. The Page only shows LOADING - then "[B]This site canít be reached
192.168.1.1 took too long to respond." I have switched off the modem hundreds of times.. and rechecked.

I also tried going through SAFE MODE with Networking and repeat everyhting.. but the same problem persi

I am really fed up and thinking of changing the service provider.. But i am also worried if this problem remains the same.

I went through many discussions and forums.. here is my ipconfig description :

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Srijana
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-EE-65-65-62-62
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR956x Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-EE-65-65-62-62
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::419b:7ec7:3521:f121%15(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.109(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 16, 2017 9:25:20 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 19, 2017 9:25:19 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 364441189
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1E-20-21-BA-F8-A9-63-68-30-6D
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 173.212.212.231
8.8.8.8
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
mrovinm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2017, 09:19 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 8



I also tried going through SAFE MODE with Networking and repeat everyhting.. but the same problem persists.
mrovinm is offline  
Old 04-16-2017, 04:03 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



What is the ISP? What is the modem?

First basic thoughts, unplug the DSL line from the modem, then try to get into it from the notebook.

If you haven't already done so, consider a hard reset of the modem. There should be a small, indented 'Reset' button somewhere on it. You may need a toothpick or something similar. Note that after doing this, you may need to take some initialization steps to log back in though the ISP. They can tell you more about that.

If you get anywhere after either of those suggestions, you may want to change the password.
Confounded Also is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts