Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Wifi radios and/or router crashing, multiple brands

This is a discussion on Wifi radios and/or router crashing, multiple brands within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'd like to know what might possibly be causing each of the three routers I've bought this summer to gradually


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2017, 09:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
OS: Window 10 Pro


Confused

I'd like to know what might possibly be causing each of the three routers I've bought this summer to gradually develop severe crash and reboot behavior.

I had a Netgear AC1750 R6400 that began rebooting constantly after a month of use. I put up with this for about another month, did a deep dive trying to research and troubleshoot the issue with zero luck.

I replaced the original Netgear with an Asus AC1900 RT-AC68P which started to frequently turn off its Wifi radios. Pressing the hardware Wifi button or turning back on via the browser interface usually fixed it temporarily but often would turn off again within 5 minutes.

I replaced the Asus with a Linksys AC2200 EA8300, my current router, and after a couple days in use is now rebooting randomly as well, every 30-60 minutes. It comes back up by itself after a couple minutes.

Is it possible my ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 cable modem or some other external force like Comcast DHCP/DNS is mucking things up no matter what router I use? It's definitely the router being affected, the cable modem never seems to crash from what I can tell watching the indicator lights.

The routers and modem are well ventilated in an open space with USB fans drawing air directly from the cases. The Asus had temperature data and was usually around 55 deg C for the proc, 35 and 45 for the 2.4 and 5 GHz radios respectively. I don't have logs saved from the older routers and the Linksys logs are worthless. This happens whether my PC is connected via wifi or ethernet. I'm at my wits end, any ideas are appreciated. Do I just have the dumbest luck ever and received 3 duds from 3 mfg? Thanks!
YoctoYotta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2017, 09:12 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I wouldn't expect the modem to have any affect. The modem to router connection is an ethernet connection, so if anything, I'd expect it to simply not connect or not pass data.

A router rebooting, is typically a sign of faulty hardware. Wifi being disabled would also be a router issue.

The only thing that comes to mind would be (AC) power.

Otherwise, I'd suspect faulty hardware (routers). As they all died quickly, at least they should have all been covered under warranty (reseller or manufacturer).
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no wifi with Fedora
I just installed Fedora 19 and I have a wifi card on my dell laptop with win7. I can't find it in Fedora so I can't connect to internet. I have a wireless Linksys router and I can connect in Windows. How do I get the wifi to show up in fedora? I go to network proxy, but don't know how to find my...
deweylovem Linux Support 22 12-30-2013 05:30 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD NETWLV32.sys
BSOD netwlv32.sys Hi all, I have been getting BSOD every time i try to connect to some Wireless network and everything is fine with others. HP pavilion dv900 Notebook pc Home premium Windows Vista 32bit. I updated the driver but nothing happened. also uninstall norton antivirus and used...
immigranta BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 30 07-20-2013 08:12 PM
Connection problems via Wifi (multiple devices)
Sorry for such a full-on, mammoth first post. I'm having connection issues with my router (Linksys WRT610N) at home. There are a number of things that are happening (may be more, this is just what I've mainly noticed)... 1) Using my laptop (Macbook Pro OSX Lion), I am unable to complete any...
pjthefarmer Networking Support 9 02-07-2012 09:45 PM
Bridging WiFi w/ Multiple Signals
Alright well this is my first post to this site but i've heard wonderful things about this site. I dont know if this belongs in cable and network cards or somewhere else. I've just made the switch to Verizon FiOS and so far loving it. I still have my old Linksys router from cable and want to find...
bluegti02 Networking Support 1 01-16-2012 03:49 AM
Laptop crashing my wifi?
I recently got my revamped alienware d9t. i was incredibly excited to do some casual gaming with it, however, when i log on to my wifi, i get a great connection for like, three minutes, then it crashes! nothing in my house has wifi anymore! everything picks it up, says its connected with a great...
dravin117 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 4 10-29-2011 08:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts