Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Streaming videos causing Shaw modem from 4 solid green lights to 2 lights

This is a discussion on Streaming videos causing Shaw modem from 4 solid green lights to 2 lights within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just recently these past few days this has been happening to me. I don't know whether it is Shaw Internet


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2016, 07:22 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



Just recently these past few days this has been happening to me.

I don't know whether it is Shaw Internet service problem, Shaw Modem or Linksys Router problem ?

Streaming videos using my Linksys router is causing Shaw modem changing from 4 solid green lights to green 2 lights.

After that happens wired internet and wireless internet doesn't work any more from my router.

Is that caused by my Linksys_WRT54G router ?

Cause I understand usually when my Shaw modem is normal it has 4 solid green dots.

I have to reset my modem each time to get 4 solid green lights on my Shaw modem and reset my router by turning power off and on to both before my internet will work again wired or wireless.


Thanks


Zhong
zhong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2016, 08:56 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

What are the 4 lights for? Usually you'll see power, link, ethernet and wifi. It can vary a bit from device to device. Shoot, my modem has about 15 lights on it!
ebackhus is offline  
Old 04-18-2016, 09:34 AM   #3
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,792
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System

Its not about how many lights you've got, its what you can do with them!

Sorry
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-29-2016, 06:23 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home


Shaw tech. Came and replaced modem. No more problem.
zhong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Website viewing differently on Chrome than it is Firefox
Hey everyone, I've noticed my website views differently on Chrome and Firefox. I do realise that it's difficult to create a site that is compatible with every browser, but this is the first I've had with Chrome and Firefox. It's only slight differences but noticeable. My site is Home I've...
outersquare Web Design & Development 5 03-26-2012 05:10 AM
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
Windows 7 freezes at startup (HiJack This Log)
Out of the blue my Windows 7 x64 laptop started having problems. Every time I boot it will get to the desktop and LOOK fine, but if I try to open anything it is completely unresponsive. Eventually it will notify me that Windows is not responding and offer to restart or wait. If I restart the...
slhaas Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 08-01-2011 12:29 PM
A few Questions
Hey guys I have a few more questions, I have been slowly working on my site and looking for stuff to do it like the software to set up a social site kinda like fb or myspace. well any ways I also wanted to set up a message board for the site for people to get help or talk about stuff, for now it...
Dblanchard1278 Web Design & Development 27 07-25-2011 01:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts