Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Router to Router

This is a discussion on Router to Router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have AT&T internet. I’ve been using the router they provided. I use my own router I would like to


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By bassfisher6522
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2019, 01:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 18
OS: windows 8.1 & 10



I have AT&T internet. I’ve been using the router they provided. I use my own router I would like to plug into the AT$T. Mine is a TP Link with 5 G. Will this cause any problems? Thanks
oldtreker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2019, 02:09 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


AT&T has a list of compatible ones. If you want to try anyway, and it doesn't work, you can always re-use theirs.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 11-08-2019, 04:08 PM   #3
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,312
OS: Windows 10 Pro



You'll have to go into each router settings: On the AT&T you'll need to turn off DHCP and if it has wifi turn it off as well. Next, on your TP Link router....Turn on DHCP, and change IP address...only the last digit....change it to 2.

There's plenty of youtube videos on it, just youtube it.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2019, 04:10 PM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,312
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Deejay100six likes this.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is online now  
Old 11-09-2019, 01:29 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


There is also a sticky: https://www.techsupportforum.com/for...rs-655257.html
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts