Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Router for a place saturated with other Wi-Fi networks

This is a discussion on Router for a place saturated with other Wi-Fi networks within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm looking for a wireless router with a stable, highly reliable connection in a place heavily saturated with other Wi-Fi


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2018, 08:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
OS: Win7 SP1



I'm looking for a wireless router with a stable, highly reliable connection in a place heavily saturated with other Wi-Fi networks and Bluetooth connections. One client will be connected through 2,4 GHz 802.11g connection and another one through LAN, while the data rate will be low (max 200 KB/s). There has to be no packet loss and uptime has to be 100 %. I have already tested Linksys WRT54GL in such environment and it crashed within few minutes with occasional packet loss beforehand. On the other hand, Cisco Meraki MX64W worked without a single problem.

Cisco is out of my budget, I am looking more towards ~200 $. Currently I aim for Asus RT-AC68U, Asus RT-AC87U, Linksys WRT3200ACM and Netgear AC1900 (R7000), but I don't really know what is the crucial thing to look for. Which router would you recommend? Thanks for any suggestions.
krneki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2018, 09:38 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Maybe your Linksys could still satisfy your needs if you locked in on one band and one channel as well as setting channel width.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-10-2018, 04:22 AM   #3
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Agree with Corday. Use a Wifi inspector App on the phone and scan all channels, find the channels with least or zero usage and lock that channel on the router.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2018, 05:58 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 10 Creators Update



If you are looking for an enterprise grade wireless access point (please note that access points will require a router) then Unifi might be the solution for you. I currently use a pair of unifi AC pros. They are robust and put out decent speed. However, it is important to note that enterprise grade equipment is not necessarily designed for speed, but rather reliability and security. Bigger price tag if you want all three.

If you are using a super saturated environment and do not need super long range I would suggest using the 5 GHz band. The 5 GHz band does not travel as far and has far more channels. The combination of this will make it more likely for you to find an available channel. If 5 GHz does not do the trick you can try the 60 GHz. That will travel even shorter distances (pretty much line of sight, will not traverse walls well) and has not been adopted by many folks yet. But for the same reason as above, the shorter the transmission distance the less possibility for interference.
derek6711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Router Network
Hi, I have decided to change my internet access from satellite to a mobile 4G network provider. So I added a new new and very capable D-Link AC750 router (Router 1) to my old and rather tired Netgear WNR834Bv2 (Router 2) driving two WN2500RP range extenders. After some searching on the web I came...
BizBuz Networking Support 9 05-12-2017 07:36 AM
TWO ROUTER ONE (ISP ROUTER) SECOND ASUS ROUTER DDWWRT ) WANT TO BE ABLE TO VPN TO SEC
Hello i need help please if anyone would be so happy to give step by step help here ! ok i have two router one main ISP router with a local ip address range of 192.168.1.1(D link with stock firmware) and then i have a second router which is Asus Router with custom DD-WRT firmware(v24-sp2...
drakester18 Protocols and Routing 12 03-19-2015 02:46 PM
After CCNA
I'm looking to get into networking. I was at university for a few years, but left after discovering that my uni doesn't teach real skills. I started CCNA last year and am nearly done with it. At the moment I've just started a very nice service support tech role, my first job in the industry. ...
IainND Certification & Career 20 12-19-2012 07:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts