Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Roku signal strength is weak in one room

This is a discussion on Roku signal strength is weak in one room within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a ROKU installed on one my televisions in a room in my house. The signal strength to my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2019, 08:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 93
OS: Windows 10



I have a ROKU installed on one my televisions in a room in my house. The signal strength to my modem which is in another room in my house is very weak when accessing ROKU on this particular television and it takes a long time for ROKU to kick in when accessing it. How can I strengthen the signal to my modem from this particular room with this weak signal?
Techcompuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2019, 03:37 PM   #2
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 920
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



which one are you using as there are various roku's?
__________________
steve32mids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 11:31 PM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,770
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


First and foremost, the Roku is using your home network. The Roku is not broadcasting a signal, thus you can NOT strengthen the signal.

Also, as you reference "signal", I assume that you are using wifi and not ethernet (ie: a wired connection). So the wifi "signal" is from your router, or modem/router combo unit if you only have a signal device providing your internet service.

All of that was just to educate you a bit on the terms used.

The Roku model, as requested above, would be beneficial, as well as the router (or modem/router combo) brand and model.

If it's only affecting one room, I'd say interference is the issue or assuming this unit is the furthest away from the router, a distance issue. The best solution is to connect the Roku using ethernet (assuming that model supports it). Aside from that, a new router (with more power/distance), and wifi extenders.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts