Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

RE Nighthawk® X10 Smart WiFi Router

This is a discussion on RE Nighthawk® X10 Smart WiFi Router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Just a quick question about speed, netgear says this is the fastest router on the market, isn't the speed


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2016, 05:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 114
OS: win 10



Hi,
Just a quick question about speed, netgear says this is the fastest router on the market, isn't the speed relative to the speed that is coming through your internet provider's server and the distance from the tower etc especially with ADSL connection?

regards brobilly
brobilly52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2016, 02:59 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


Netgear is talking about the speed of the router, it has nothing to do with the speed you get from a ISP. Reading the specs of the router is impressive, but the $500 price tag is not.
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 11:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 114
OS: win 10



Thank you for the quick response but I am still ignorant as to the difference
So what does a fast router do if it has nothing to do with the speed from your ISP, from what I understand; you need to connect the router to a modem and that router connects things like mob phone laptops etc via wifi so how does a faster router help that sequence. Can a router replace a modem?
brobilly52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2016, 02:20 AM   #4
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


A router is used to connect multiple devices to the Internet, and your Home Network. You will still need a Modem to access the Internet, your Internet speed never increases unless you purchase more bandwidth.

The fast Router speeds will be on your Home (Internal) Network, lets say you have a Home Theater PC, or a Game Server with shows / games stored on it, you want to stream a show / game to other computer(s) this is where the Router speeds come into play, and those speeds are dependent on the Network Hardware of the computer.

Here is a comparison of theoretical wireless speeds; What is the actual real-life speed of wireless networks ? :: SG FAQ

Also a Wired Connection has faster throughput then a Wireless Connection, due to local RF Interference, etc.

Hope all this makes sense.
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 11-29-2016, 03:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 114
OS: win 10



Thank you yes I now I understand the difference between a modem and a router and what router speed refers to.
Much appreciated thanks again
brobilly52 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart TV connecting to a router but not the internet
Hello friends first time, long time. And essentially I have a dreaded problem with my "smart TV". I have one of the Samsung Led Tv's but an older model like a series 5 or 6. The T.V. has been working fine for the year and a half I've had it. The software updated itself multiple times and nothing...
broadwaystorm Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 03-04-2015 09:06 AM
no wifi with Fedora
I just installed Fedora 19 and I have a wifi card on my dell laptop with win7. I can't find it in Fedora so I can't connect to internet. I have a wireless Linksys router and I can connect in Windows. How do I get the wifi to show up in fedora? I go to network proxy, but don't know how to find my...
deweylovem Linux Support 22 12-30-2013 05:30 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts