Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Pantech uml290 to a router

This is a discussion on Pantech uml290 to a router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Trying to connect my uml290 to a new Afoundry ew 750. Cant seem to get it to work. Not sure


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2016, 12:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7



Trying to connect my uml290 to a new Afoundry ew 750. Cant seem to get it to work. Not sure of the correct settings.

Thanks for your help.

lhops
lhops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2016, 10:11 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I can't find any images or specs to see which ports are available on the UML290. Bur from what I can see, it connects directly to a PC. I don't know that you can connect it to a router.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 11-17-2016, 11:42 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7



Thank you Jim for your reply. Let me give you some of my reasons for wanting to use the high speed router. I have been with Verizon for a few years now because we do not have cable in our area. Well the other day I saw them running fiber optics cable in your neighborhood. That led me to start getting ready with the equipment for that big move. But right now I have the UML290 connected to a Cradlepoint router and it is working fine. So I thought I would try the new high speed Afoundry EW750 out using the Pantect device. Well I have not been able to get to work. The UML290 is a USB device and the EW750 has a USB connector and an Ethernet as well. The Ethernet is marked with WAN input and I have tried a USB to Ethernet adapter with no luck. So there you are. Just hoping some one had some info.
lhops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2016, 04:48 AM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Is the Cradlepoint router specific to that type of hardware? I've seen routers that accept/connect to those types of wireless "modems" and they have a special port to which they connect.

The typical router WAN port is an ethernet port, which that modem doesn't have, and you can't use a simple USB to ethernet converter. The USB port on a typical router is used for connecting data storage or a printer only.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 08:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7



Yes the CradlePoint does have the UML290 on its list. It just has two ports UBS and Ethernet. Of course I an using the USB. But I did contact Afoundry and they said the ew750 was compatible and sent the setting but no luck. Their support group is in China and it takes awhile to get them to answer. So I was hoping someone may have tried using the UML290 with any other high speed router.

Leon
lhops is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pantech UML290 connection issues?
I have a Panasonic CF-30 ToughBook running Windows 7 Profession that I got from work. It only has one USB drive when it's in the docking station, so I bought a J5create 4-port hub from BestBuy to give me more USB ports since the one that it has is always going to be taken up with the Verizon...
ClemsonSCJ Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 08-28-2015 05:01 PM
Is it possible to have a router receive wifi from another router?
Ok, so I bought yet another digital tv recorder. Went for the best this time, Humax and looking forward to not having all the problems we had with Goodmans products. The unit is going to be used upstairs but in order for me to get the best from it, including having access to on demand services...
Deejay100six Networking Support 15 05-20-2014 05:13 PM
Weirdest router ever. I need help
HI all. I'm Martijn and this will be my first post on this forum. Before I explain my problem, let me, let you all know that I've tried to find a solution on this forum before making a new tread, no luck so far. I'll try to provide as much info as I can: -) I do have knowlegde about Ip,...
Trancelistic Networking Support 8 10-20-2012 09:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts