Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

On ISP-provided modems

This is a discussion on On ISP-provided modems within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Is it recommended to replace the modem that came with the subscription? I'm asking especially since I seem to have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2016, 11:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 150
OS: Win7 SP1, Xubuntu



Is it recommended to replace the modem that came with the subscription?

I'm asking especially since I seem to have limited access to manage the modem. I cannot even change the default SSID or the modem's password.

Thanks in advance!
blaaargh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2016, 12:45 AM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,131
OS: Windows 10



What is the make and model of your modem/router combo unit? Who is your internet service provider?

Quote:
Is it recommended to replace the modem that came with the subscription?
No. It may be a violation of terms of service, plus your provider may not support self-sourced equipment. Contact your ISP and make inquiries.

Quote:
I'm asking especially since I seem to have limited access to manage the modem. I cannot even change the default SSID or the modem's password.
It's possible you may be logging in using a non-admin user account that has limited access to certain configurable options.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 03-28-2016, 10:31 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



Comcast allows you to use your own modem. Saves $10 a month :-) Paid for itself in 7 months.
GentleArrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2016, 10:49 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 150
OS: Win7 SP1, Xubuntu



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
What is the make and model of your modem/router combo unit?
Thanks for the quick reply Stancestans. I'm using a Baudtec modem (model #RN243R4-2T2R).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
No. It may be a violation of terms of service, plus your provider may not support self-sourced equipment. Contact your ISP and make inquiries.

It's possible you may be logging in using a non-admin user account that has limited access to certain configurable options.
I checked and they did say they're not supporting self-sourced modems. If that's the case, is there a way I can add security to my computer? Something to prevent someone outside (like a tech) just randomly connecting to my computer? (I'm assuming this is possible based on other users' experiences, i.e. tech support being able to logon to their modems and change the settings and such.)

I also noticed the modem revert to its default settings after it's turned off. I did not experience this when I was using the previous ISP's modem (Cisco brand). Is this normal?
blaaargh is offline  
Old 03-29-2016, 06:57 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Just as an FYI:

Modems usually don't have a login/password.

Modems don't provide wifi, thus there is no SSID to change.

ALL modems settings are set by the ISP to function on their network. There is nothing that a user needs to touch.


Having said all of that, what you are likely referring to is a modem/router combo unit. The modem connects you to the ISP. The router portion provides routing from the modem to your LAN. There is also an internal switch for you to connect devices and wifi. The router side is where you would customize how the device handles your network traffic, including the setting of the SSID.

If you have limited access, the device likely isn't saving your changes (whatever you are changing), thus why they are lost when the device loses power.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 03-29-2016, 01:58 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 150
OS: Win7 SP1, Xubuntu



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
If you have limited access, the device likely isn't saving your changes (whatever you are changing), thus why they are lost when the device loses power.
Thank you for explaining JimE. Is there a way to fix that?
blaaargh is offline  
Old 04-01-2016, 09:02 PM   #7
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Microsoft Support
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 4,028
OS: XP Pro



Expanding on what JimE was explaining about modem/router combos, I haven't heard of an ISP who doesn't allow a customer to access their router. The ISP usually gives a customer the log in info at the install and you should be able to change the settings as you like, unless it's a really stripped down router. Call your ISP and get the log in info or see what they have to say.
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 04-06-2016, 06:08 AM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Garvin View Post
Expanding on what JimE was explaining about modem/router combos, I haven't heard of an ISP who doesn't allow a customer to access their router. The ISP usually gives a customer the log in info at the install and you should be able to change the settings as you like, unless it's a really stripped down router. Call your ISP and get the log in info or see what they have to say.
Depends on if you have residential or business service. But yes, for residential service, you should have pretty much unrestricted access.

If you access is restricted to some settings, they would not appear or be greyed out, thus you wouldn't be able to change them. If you are able to make changes, they need to be applied/saved before they take affect. If the device isn't retaining those settings after a power outage, the device is faulty.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD happening frequently
Hello, I bought a laptop recently for my studies and I was a bit reluctant to the idea of having windows 8.1 as I had the "opportunity" to see on friends computers how much I disliked it. But I couldn't really avoid it to get my brand new ASUS ROG JM551 so I finally purchased it. Now I'm having...
TraxXx44 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 05-19-2015 12:42 AM
BSOD 0x1A running Viber 3.1.1.60 on W7x64
Hello. I've installed Viber for Windows onto my stable system. Now I'm getting occasionally a BSOD 0x1A during first running hour. Now I killed the Viber app after Windows start and work ok for 3 hours. The Viber log.log file says: Product version 3.0.0.133634 The viber.exe file version is...
pieceofbrain BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 09-28-2013 08:43 AM
[SOLVED] Static IP from ISP mysteriously changing
For some reason the Static Ip that has been assigned to me by my ISP changes within 24 to 48 of when it assigned. The ISP says that it is nothing on their end, so I am racking my brains trying to figure out what (if anything) on my end is causing it. Here is my set up: Network...
cccooper Networking Support 7 07-24-2013 11:06 AM
ISP backup - IP Routing
Hey guys, Alright, so, I'm fairly new to publicly hosted servers but I'm learning quite a lot quite quickly. Anywho, here is what I am shooting for and I know it's possible I just don't know what it is called or where to start. Hopefully someone can help me out. I'm hosting a server and...
RSpecianjr Protocols and Routing 8 11-23-2011 08:07 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts