Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

No Wi-Fi with Router

This is a discussion on No Wi-Fi with Router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm using a Cisco Linksys E1200 router, and I'm having issues with it tonight. While I can access the internet


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2016, 12:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Meowmocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 49
OS: Windows 10 Home

My System


I'm using a Cisco Linksys E1200 router, and I'm having issues with it tonight. While I can access the internet on the computer connected to it by the wire, my other computer (the Windows Vista PC listed under my computer info) cannot connect to the network.
The computer is a desktop, and uses a Belkin Wireless Adapter plugged into the USB port, in order to access the internet. Normally, my computer automatically connects to the network when it turns on, but today when I booted it up, it didn't connect. When I troubleshooted, it claimed I couldn't connect because the security password was incorrect, even though the code hadn't changed. However, my computer can successfully connect to the unsecured networks floating around, so it's not an inability to connect to a network at all.
I tried refreshing my router, then restarting my Vista PC. Neither of these solved the issue.
I tried opening Linksys Connect on the computer that's connected to the router. It sat there loading without doing anything, so I uninstalled it, then downloaded the installation file and tried to install it again. It would reach 25%, then sit there without any visible progress. So I gave up on using that to access my router settings. I then tried typing '192.168.1.1' into the browser. I did this on Google Chrome, then on Internet Explorer (with and without add-ons). Every time, it would sit there with the spinning 'loading icon, but didn't actually load anything. I opened Command Prompt and typed 'ipconfig', and it said I had the right gateway address.

At this point, I've done everything except unplug the router, reset it, and hit it with a sledgehammer. And, I still can't connect my PC to the network. Anyone have any suggestions? Should I try unplugging it or resetting it, or is there another option I could look into first?
Meowmocha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2016, 12:47 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
jimscreechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,233
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

Send a message via MSN to jimscreechy

What operating system are you using?
__________________
Just because you know what you want doesn't mean the plan you have to get it is a good one.
jimscreechy is offline  
Old 10-11-2016, 01:55 AM   #3
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,131
OS: Windows 10



Power cycle it by turning it off, unplug its power source and leave it for at least 5 seconds to a minute. This should be enough to clear residual current from its circuitry. Factory reset it, then configure it afresh. Remove the old wifi profile from the Vista PC and let it detect the newly configured network then connect to it.
Stancestans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2016, 11:50 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Meowmocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 49
OS: Windows 10 Home

My System


The computer I'm trying to connect with wi-fi is the Windows Vista desktop PC on my system specs here. The computer plugged into the router is a Windows 7 Professional, service pack 1, and is also a desktop.

Okay, I unplugged everything from the router and let it sit there for about an hour. Then I plugged everything back in. I still only have internet on the Windows 7 PC. The Vista computer can't connect to wi-fi. This time, instead of saying the password is wrong, it says wireless association failed because the computer did not receive a response.
I tried installing Linksys Connect again, and this time it successfully installed. The wi-fi security is WPA2 Personal. Here are the router details copied from Linksys Connect.

Model name: E1200
Model number: E1200
Serial number: 10822C6A329760
Firmware version: 2.0.06 build 6
Operating system: Windows 7
Software version: 1.5.15287.0
Connection type (WAN): DHCP
IP address (LAN): 192.168.1.1
IP address (WAN): 10.10.100.140
Computer IP address: 192.168.1.108

Should I try resetting the router at this point?
Meowmocha is offline  
Old 10-11-2016, 12:00 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



I would suggest you download xirrus wifi inspector and post a screen shot of what it sees for wifi in your area. Do this on the vista box
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 10-11-2016, 12:42 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
jimscreechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,233
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

Send a message via MSN to jimscreechy

It looks like either your pc or your router has lost its settings. It happens.

Use your Linksys connect and check to see if the wireless settings on your router are what they should be. Check the passphrase is as it should be... in fact re-enter the passphrase (for your WPA2 SSID) just to be sure. Try to connect again. if that fails do the following.

Right click the network/wireless icon on your system tray, select network sharing centre. Click manage wireless settings on the left. There should be an icon for your network as it was previously configured. Right click and select remove network. I will ask if you are sure, click yes. Close the Network Sharing Centre window.

click (left) on the wireless icon on the system tray. You should see your wireless network there. If you don't, there is still a problem with your router, panic for 5 seconds then report back.

If you see your wireless network, click on it (tick the connect automatically checkbox) and click connect. It will ask you for the passphrase, as long as you enter the correct passphrase it should work, and things should be fine.

If it doesn't work don't panic, report back.
__________________
Just because you know what you want doesn't mean the plan you have to get it is a good one.
jimscreechy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No signal from Netgear DGN2200 to D-Link 1320 Powerline router
Hi all. I am a complete n00b with very little computer skills, so I am humbly seeking advice here. The issue I am having is I cannot get my D-Link 1320 Powerline router to "talk" to my Netgear DGN2200 router. Both the Powerline router and the Netgear router are plugged into separate sockets...
Dead_Wing Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 12-30-2013 08:18 AM
Weirdest router ever. I need help
HI all. I'm Martijn and this will be my first post on this forum. Before I explain my problem, let me, let you all know that I've tried to find a solution on this forum before making a new tread, no luck so far. I'll try to provide as much info as I can: -) I do have knowlegde about Ip,...
Trancelistic Networking Support 8 10-20-2012 09:16 PM
Subnet Masks | Router Ports | IP Ranges | Ect...
I am using a Westell Model 6100 Proline wired router. The router has two connection plugins: - one plugin connection to the telephone outside line (simple), and - one plugin connection that I have plugged into the ISDN modem that came out with old Compaq machine. Over the past 10 years, I...
Win98User Security and Firewalls 10 04-20-2011 09:57 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts