Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

No internet from modem to router

This is a discussion on No internet from modem to router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just moved into a new house with a new ISP (Grande, central texas). I purchased a SB6141 to go with


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2016, 09:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 10



Just moved into a new house with a new ISP (Grande, central texas). I purchased a SB6141 to go with my existing Linksys E1200 router (was used at old apartment with Time Warner). I am able to get internet from my modem when I plug an ethernet cable directly to my computer. But when I plug the cable from modem -> router, I get no internet and bottom Link LED light just flashes red (does not appear to be amber but red). I try running an additional ethernet cable from router to the computer and that gets me nowhere either. I already tried re-setting and re-configuring my router but that didn't work either. I'm not an expert at this so it is plausible that I messed that up.

It seems pretty clear to me that the message is not getting from my modem to my router, but I can't figure out why. Some searching around the internet has led me nowhere. Hope someone here can help. Thanks!

Running: Windows 10

I did a ipconfig when plugged directly to the modem, here's my results
Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
(c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


Windows IP Configuration


Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 4:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : grandenetworks.net
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c0f:cca2:18d0:9aca%13
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 66.90.137.187
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 66.90.137.254

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : grandenetworks.net
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:425a:89bb::425a:89bb
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::1
2002:c058:6301::c058:6301

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.grandenetworks.net:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : grandenetworks.net

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:2ce4:17a8:bda5:7644
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2ce4:17a8:bda5:7644%12
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
bgusc10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2016, 09:14 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 10



ipconfig from when I connect to wi-fi network from the router (no internet connection though)
Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : grandenetworks.net

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 4:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::29dc:34ca:a764:5574%2
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.133
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.{0023441F-EB5B-40BC-BA43-CCFB33D5D7C9}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
bgusc10 is offline  
Old 03-12-2016, 10:33 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



When connecting the router to the modem you need to power cycle everything to get nee IP addresses:

. . Turn off the Modem, router and all pc's . . turn on the Modem and wait a few minutes for the lights to stabilize . . then turn on the router, then one pc at a time. See if you connect to the internet.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2016, 05:05 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 10



That worked! I had done a power cycle previously, but I think i did it before reconfiguring the router. Thanks again.
bgusc10 is offline  
Old 03-12-2016, 06:13 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Cool . . hanks for posting back!
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
Possible virus/trojan?
Hi I have a Dell Inspiron desktop (Vista, SP1) which will not run any Microsoft updates, I am wondering whether it might have been affected by a virus. I have run an attached the reports you asked for. To date I have run Malwarebytes and Norton Internet security. I still cannot run updates...
Tiridhe Resolved HJT Threads 12 05-21-2011 06:35 PM
[SOLVED] Error Code: C00D1197 OR 0xC00D1197
Hello ....don't know if this is right forum I listen to a online football station for my home team. Just recently it has stopped working in IE 8 32 bit. I can log in but can't play any content in the windows media player it uses. However it will work in IE 64 bit and Firefox browsers...I...
REMA1 Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 11 03-20-2011 09:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts