Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

My wireless connection keeps dropping???

This is a discussion on My wireless connection keeps dropping??? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I hope I'm putting this in the right section. My issue is that my wireless connection keeps dropping. It


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2016, 12:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



Hi, I hope I'm putting this in the right section. My issue is that my wireless connection keeps dropping. It still says it's connected even when it drops and I'm not sure how to fix it. My OS is Windows XP and I'm using a Netopia 3d Reach usb pen drive.
Jacob626 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2016, 02:46 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Please Download and run this Xirrus WiFi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here. For Vista and Windows 7, 8 you can use the Windows Snipping Tool
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-29-2016, 02:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



Alright, thanks. Here ya go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	capture_001_29052016_171616.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	211.6 KB
ID:	283146  
Jacob626 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2016, 02:33 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Which of those is yours? All three are very weak and two are on the sam channel.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-29-2016, 05:25 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



WEST4061 is the 1 I'm using. How does being on the same channel affect the network and how can I make them stronger?
Jacob626 is offline  
Old 05-29-2016, 06:08 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You have no security on the router so anyone could be using it without your knowledge. You can change the channel by going into wireless settings. You can get owners manual that shows how to do that at the manufacturers support site.

Signal strength can be tricky . . you can try moving either the pc or router so that they are closer together. Try to place the router so that there is minimum of walls, mirrors and anything that transmits radio signals.

You can also use a range extender to expand the range of the router
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-29-2016, 06:43 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



Really, that would explain some things. What on the picture I uploaded shows you that I have no security? Oh, and does it matter what channel I change it to or will any number do?
Jacob626 is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 08:19 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Under "Default Auth" it reports None . . although under "Default Encryotion" it reports WEP. Do you have to inter a security pin when you connect to it?

I would change it to channel 1 since there is another on 11
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 09:41 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



I don't think so. Ok, in the wireless security settings next to authentication type it says "open system". The other option is shared key. And that is what you're saying it should be on?

Also, when I change the setting and switch the channel to 1, I should restart the router?
Jacob626 is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 10:23 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob626 View Post
I don't think so. Ok, in the wireless security settings next to authentication type it says "open system". The other option is shared key. And that is what you're saying it should be on?

Yes . . WEP is the weakest

Also, when I change the setting and switch the channel to 1, I should restart the router?

Yes
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 11:29 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



Ok, I changed all you said. I ran the Xirrus scan and the default auth still says open. Should I change the wireless security to something other than WEP?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	capture_001_30052016_142035.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	283186  
Jacob626 is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 12:35 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



WPA-PSK is the strongest if your network card ill work with that
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 01:34 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



Ok, once I change it will I have to create another password or something like that?
Jacob626 is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 04:54 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Yes . . when you change the type of security you set the password
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 07:05 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



Alright, I've ran into another problem. The are 2 other pc's on the network that now can't access the internet since I changed the Network Authentication from open to shared. The same thing happened to me, but I found the option to change the authentication from open to shared in the properties of the west4061 connection. The problem is that the other 2 pc's are using Windows 10 and I have no idea where to look to change theirs from open to shared. I still haven't changed the security from WEP yet because of this little issue. Where should I look to change the settings on the other 2 pc's cause I'm not familiar with Windows 10 what so ever?
Jacob626 is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 07:23 AM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You will have to set up the wireless connection as though it is for the first time . . see this

How to manage wireless network connections in Windows 10 | Windows Central
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-06-2016, 03:31 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 9
OS: Windows XP



Alright, this has become a bigger problem than I anticipated. The original problem of my connection keeps dropping has been fixed, so thanks for that Rich. But I have some stuff I need to attend to right now so I will be back at a later date. Thanks again for your help Rich.
Jacob626 is offline  
Old 06-06-2016, 06:58 AM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You are welcome!
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop won't connect to wireless network although signal is great
Earlier in the morning my router was unpluged twice by my baby brother when he was fooling around, and then when I plugged it in the third time my laptop won't connect the the wireless network. I could see the network with great signal on the connection list, but when I tried connect to it, it...
Clementine Networking Support 2 08-03-2013 03:37 PM
Wireless Network drops
My family just moved last night and I have been experiencing intermittent drops of my wireless connection since. We started a new service with Time Warner cable, so we have cable internet. I tested one of the pc's in our house and it was getting a solid 9 mb/s, my pc just got 1 mb/s. About 4...
essenceofire Networking Support 90 12-04-2012 10:57 AM
[SOLVED] losing wireless connection after a few minutes..
Im losing wireless connection on my laptop after a few minutes. here is the spec of my laptop: Acer travelmate2413lci, windows xp professional version 2002 service pack 2. The network adapters in the device manager are: 1.) atheros AR5005G wireless network adapter 2.) realtek RTL8139 family...
BennyZars Networking Support 7 05-22-2012 10:22 AM
[SOLVED] D-link wireless router keeps dropping connection
My D-link wireless router (WBR-1310) keeps dropping my internet/email connection. The little green lights are all flashing intermittently except of the one on the far left which stays on. I will have a connection for a little while/few minutes and then it drops. What do I do to fix this?
cheekyr Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 02-12-2012 02:20 PM
[SOLVED] Wireless connection keeps failing repeatedly
Hi i am having problems with my wireless internet. I am using windows 7 64-bit OS and am connected to a WRG614v6 Netgear router. I will be on the internet and will have superb connection then my connection will drop, when i view the network it says that i have lost IPv4 connectivity. Pulling the...
Stimson Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 22 03-24-2011 05:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts