Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Mesh vs traditional

This is a discussion on Mesh vs traditional within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I did search but could not find my answer on this. Hopefully this is the correct place to post this.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2017, 06:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 10



I did search but could not find my answer on this. Hopefully this is the correct place to post this.

I am currently using a TP Link Archer 3150 router in my house with Xfinity internet. Speeds are very fast with close to 300mbps down on wired and 50-60 on 2.4ghz wifi. 5gh is close to 250 if I have a strong signal. Router is placed on main floor of a two story house.

Here are my questions/issue. I have two kids that play a lot of xbox online gaming and tend to stream videos/music on computers at the same time. During these "peak" times, the rest of us get horrible connections issues as the router seems to be prioritizing the gaming. I did not set it up to prioritize though. I can switch to the 5ghz channel on my devices but depending on what room I am in, that may or may not fix the issue.

I am thinking of doing one of two things. Either setting up priorities within the router as I believe mine can do that or look for an alternative like a mesh setup.

1. Who is using a mesh setup like Plume or Google?

2. Will a mesh network help me deal with the wifi allocation automatically (i.e. fix my connection issues when traffic is high in my house)?

3. If anyone is using a mesh system, how well does it work outside? I have a pool area about 40 to 50 feet from my house and I need wifi out there for Sonos control. My current router is plenty strong to reach out there.


I like the idea of Plume where I can have 6 pods spread throughout the house. Not sure if their system would help me with my issues though. And not sure how well it would travel to my pool area as their pods seem to have a low signal (on purpose).

Google seems like it has a hot signal so maybe that is a better choice. or another.

Confused!!! Thanks!
mpkelley20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2017, 10:38 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



Wifi mesh won't do anything for your internet access bandwidth issue.

Your issue is gaming will use as much bandwidth as it can get. Everyone else has to stand in line for a turn.

To regulate the gaming bandwidth you need to configure QoS in the router giving the gaming consoles a set amount of bandwidth.

Here's your manual
https://www.brandsmartusa.com/pdfs/manuals/20224782.pdf
review chapter 8
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 05-02-2017, 12:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 10



Ok. Glad I didn't run our and spend $300+ for a new setup. I will play around with my current router and adjust the settings to limit the game consoles. Outside of this issue, I have been happy with this router.
mpkelley20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local Area Connection, doesn't have a valid IP configuration
A little preface before I get into my problem. Last night my friend and I were looking to play a game together. After some research and so forth, we determined that Hamachi was the way to play. So we installed and began to play. Fast forward to this morning, and suddenly my ethernet cable no longer...
TTunnell Networking Support 26 05-22-2014 12:04 AM
Slow computer- UDS:Dangerous.Object.Multi Generic
Hi I have a Toshiba Satellite with a pentium (R) 4 CPU 2.00 GHz, with 768 Mb of Ram, running on XP SP3. It is very, very slow, often hanging on trying to open an Internet page. I ran various svans: Malwarebytes, Superantispyware, AVG, and finally Kaspersly. The latter came up with...
qimqim Inactive Malware Help Topics 38 12-03-2013 04:54 AM
Trojan:JS/Seedabutor.B
For the last few days I had problems with scripts for my site, that were messed about daily. I scanned the computer with Kaspersky that found: HEUR:Exploit.Java.CVE-2013-0431.gen I ran another scan on the folder indicated with Security Essentials which found the same file. It is supposed to...
qimqim Resolved HJT Threads 13 04-29-2013 04:39 AM
Mouse unpredictable
My mouse opens files and sites, sometimes when it gets near a shortcut, others recalling previous open pages. In Word and while writing emails, things get out of control. When I try to place the cursor in a particular spot, different things happen instead. I have tried to change mice with same...
qimqim Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 6 01-29-2013 11:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts