Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Maximum users on SMTP

This is a discussion on Maximum users on SMTP within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, I am new to this forum but would love some help if possible. I have recently got a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2016, 04:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 10



Hi all,

I am new to this forum but would love some help if possible. I have recently got a wireless router that picks up the cellphone network and provides the Internet connection to computers connected to the modem.

We have all connected without problems and are using the Internet fine. We all use Outlook as our mail client and have the smtp server details. We could always get most of the computers to send emails via outlook, but not all of them.

We contacted the ISP and they said that the modem only allows 6 computers to route emails via that smtp server at a time.....? Is that a possible restriction? We have 8 employees and it would be ideal if we could all use outlook (or even a different email client if that works better) at the same time.

Is there a way of getting around this problem? I have considered vpns but I don't really know how to go about it.

Many thanks for any help you can give.

Ed
edwardselfe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2016, 08:44 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
MitchConner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,290
OS: IOS, NX-OS, JunOS, TMOS



Is it the ISP's SMTP server?
__________________

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
MitchConner is offline  
Old 06-20-2016, 09:00 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 10


Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchConner View Post
Is it the ISP's SMTP server?
Yes I have the ISP's SMTP server.... Thanks.
edwardselfe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2016, 04:42 AM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
MitchConner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,290
OS: IOS, NX-OS, JunOS, TMOS



Unfortunately mate, they can implement restrictions.
__________________

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
MitchConner is offline  
Old 06-21-2016, 09:14 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



That ISP tech support answer sounds fishy to me. Never had any ISP via router limit email flow. Call back and talk to another tech. See if you get the same answer
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 06-21-2016, 10:13 AM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,016
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


ISP can put many restrictions on their SMTP Server. Most are to prevent spammers.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IE 9 full page problems
I have been using FireFox for years and love it but for some reason after an upgrade it started only loading a part of the graphics on a page - would have to hit "reload tab" several times to get all graphics to load. Spent time on forums and never able to solve the problem so installed IE 9. ...
jebjeb1 Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 6 12-04-2011 10:16 AM
Can anyone help me with my IE?!! Pop -up help
i have lost the ability to get pop-ups. great, you say, none of those annoying things. but i can't get anything - links that open in new windows, etc. click on link, and sometimes window opens, get message that IE has eccountered prob and has to close. sometimes starts to open in new tab, then...
gerard b Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 11 08-28-2011 12:09 AM
Ie9 - 1 tab open - over 200mb of ram
With 1 tab of Ie9 open the memory used exceeds 200mb in around 15 min. The memory used never decreases, but just increases when a new page is loaded or if you go back a page then forward. Refreshing sees no increase just a fluctuation. Each new page sees an increase of 10-30mb and this happens with...
badogblue Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 8 06-05-2011 11:02 AM
Internet Explorer lock-up problem
I am running IE8 with xp sp3. Everytime I drag the scroll bar or use a drop down menu, I freeze up for 30 to 60 seconds before resuming normal function. I have uninstalled and reinstalled IE. I have disabled all of the add-on's. This problem began after an auto update one night a couple of...
init4christ Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 20 02-03-2011 03:29 AM
IE 9 beta uses high cpu
after about 30 secs after being on a page.. one of the processes of IE in task manager will shoot up to 50% cpu.. and if i end task.. it will close the tab.. re-open it and then do the same again.. same happens if i open another website, so then i'll have a total of 100% cpu since each tab uses...
rudy727 Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 10 01-21-2011 11:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts