Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

keep getting disconnected from modem/router

This is a discussion on keep getting disconnected from modem/router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. First of all it's a combination modem/router, just to be clear about my thread title. I'm getting frequenly disconnected from


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2019, 01:40 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


First of all it's a combination modem/router, just to be clear about my thread title. I'm getting frequenly disconnected from a game I play (specifically Ultima Online, using the razor tool to connect) usually it starts to lag, and may rarely stop lagging, but most of the time I get disconnected, can happen 10 times in 20 minutes, but have some other problems as well, such as firefox not opening tabs when I tell it to. A problem with the discord program, it lagging etc.

Quote:
Is this a wired or wireless connection issue?
For me wireless, since I use a wireless adapter to connect to the modem/router

Quote:
post an ipconfig /all output of the computer(s) in question for review.

Here it is, my IP is the one with the netgear wireless adapter

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sean-PC-Desktop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : fios-router.home

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : fios-router.home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR A6210 WiFi USB3.0 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-37-86-23-36-FB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::98f7:d502:33d8:40bb%22(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.170(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 06, 2019 9:40:37 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 08, 2019 4:03:51 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 591148934
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1B-8F-11-99-30-85-A9-98-29-B3

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : AnchorFree TAP-Windows Adapter V9 #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-C2-6A-67-29
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : AnchorFree TAP-Windows Adapter V9
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-92-5B-B8-16
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-NordVPN Windows Adapter V9
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-3B-71-06-44
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
#2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-83-3B-13-2F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V9
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-3C-8C-27-B6
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connectio
n
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 30-85-A9-98-29-B3
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Administrator>


Quote:
Who is your Internet Service Provider (ISP)?
US Providers - Comcast, Charter, AT&T, Verizon, etc...
UK Providers - BT, talktalk, Virgin Media, etc...
Verizon Fios

Quote:
What type of Broadband connection are you using?
Dial-up, DSL, Cable, Satellite, Fios or T1
Fios

Quote:
What is the exact Make and Model of your Modem, Router or Modem/Router Combo - Linksys, D-Link, Netgear, TP-LINK, etc.
Says Fios G100 on the back, seems kind of vague, I can post some pictures of it. It may be this one, but doesn't say so on the actual device https://www.verizon.com/home/accesso...antum-gateway/

Quote:
What is the Name of the Anti-Virus, Security or Firewall Software installed from the problematic computer - McAfee, Norton, Eset, Webroot, Zone Alarm, etc.
It doesn't look like I have any right now, but my computer isn't the only one on the network having problems Here's the Xirrus screenshot. I'm guessing the signal history is the pane we need to look at.

PC person is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2019, 03:44 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 89
OS: Windows 10



Sorry for taking a while to answer,

Is this a public wifi spot from a college dorm? Do you have direct access to the modem/router combo?

The reason why I ask is because it sounds like multiple connections are being made to the router. Or maybe you are just too far away from said router and there is a lot of electrical interference happening.

I get frequent disconnects on my old tablet because my pc tower sits right next to me. And even though my router is barely 8 feet away from me it disconnects like a troubled child on drugs.

Since it is a wireless connection you may also want to see the signal strength. It just sounds like to me at least your connection is possibly being interrupted either by other users connecting to the router, or there is too much interference happening with the wifi signal.

You may also want to check your current processes that are running to see if there are any unwanted apps taking up internet traffic on your pc. Sometimes having an Antivirus can help stop said apps from connecting while you game. I think windows 10 also has a gamer mode for when you start playing online.
The_Con-Sept is offline  
Old 07-09-2019, 06:50 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Is this a public wifi spot from a college dorm? Do you have direct access to the modem/router combo?

The reason why I ask is because it sounds like multiple connections are being made to the router. Or maybe you are just too far away from said router and there is a lot of electrical interference happening.
It's a home modem/router, and yes multiple connections are being made to it.


Quote:
Since it is a wireless connection you may also want to see the signal strength. It just sounds like to me at least your connection is possibly being interrupted either by other users connecting to the router, or there is too much interference happening with the wifi signal.
I doubt that it, at least if the icon in my bottom right in an indicator, I've never seen it below 4 bars since I got my new USB wireless adapter. Right now it's at 3.


Quote:
You may also want to check your current processes that are running to see if there are any unwanted apps taking up internet traffic on your pc. Sometimes having an Antivirus can help stop said apps from connecting while you game. I think windows 10 also has a gamer mode for when you start playing online.
I'm using Windows 7 Professional, here are my processes

Image Name PID Session Name Session# Mem Usage
========================= ======== ================ =========== ============
System Idle Process 0 Services 0 24 K
System 4 Services 0 13,788 K
smss.exe 564 Services 0 1,760 K
csrss.exe 860 Services 0 5,704 K
csrss.exe 576 Console 1 40,496 K
wininit.exe 628 Services 0 6,404 K
winlogon.exe 616 Console 1 9,924 K
services.exe 940 Services 0 13,956 K
lsass.exe 952 Services 0 21,248 K
lsm.exe 1016 Services 0 5,860 K
svchost.exe 1080 Services 0 14,056 K
NVDisplay.Container.exe 1168 Services 0 14,480 K
svchost.exe 1224 Services 0 16,532 K
svchost.exe 1348 Services 0 27,340 K
svchost.exe 1384 Services 0 35,776 K
svchost.exe 1416 Services 0 40,336 K
svchost.exe 1440 Services 0 60,860 K
audiodg.exe 1532 Services 0 20,116 K
SbieSvc.exe 1676 Services 0 6,760 K
svchost.exe 1996 Services 0 26,712 K
spoolsv.exe 2068 Services 0 15,544 K
svchost.exe 2124 Services 0 23,152 K
schedul2.exe 2216 Services 0 9,436 K
armsvc.exe 2260 Services 0 4,596 K
SeaPort.EXE 2468 Services 0 10,612 K
remoting_host.exe 2516 Services 0 8,340 K
OfficeClickToRun.exe 2556 Services 0 56,844 K
remoting_host.exe 2572 Services 0 18,128 K
taskeng.exe 2720 Console 1 8,752 K
taskhost.exe 2748 Console 1 17,412 K
dwm.exe 2800 Console 1 10,132 K
SmartDefrag.exe 2868 Console 1 6,828 K
explorer.exe 2888 Console 1 77,204 K
AsRoutineController.exe 2976 Console 1 4,104 K
svchost.exe 3004 Services 0 15,096 K
svchost.exe 3032 Services 0 9,404 K
IpOverUsbSvc.exe 2084 Services 0 12,628 K
svchost.exe 3112 Services 0 5,016 K
SbieCtrl.exe 3180 Console 1 22,384 K
A6210.EXE 3228 Console 1 19,160 K
ProductUpdater.exe 3460 Console 1 63,956 K
jusched.exe 3492 Console 1 16,088 K
NetgearSwitchUSB.exe 3560 Services 0 5,880 K
NVDisplay.Container.exe 3568 Console 1 43,520 K
nordvpn-service.exe 3904 Services 0 46,064 K
nvcontainer.exe 2796 Services 0 31,544 K
NvTelemetryContainer.exe 3308 Services 0 13,484 K
svchost.exe 3800 Services 0 4,972 K
ProductAgentService.exe 3940 Services 0 16,288 K
sqlwriter.exe 1344 Services 0 7,556 K
svchost.exe 3208 Services 0 10,920 K
svchost.exe 4008 Services 0 439,012 K
vds.exe 3988 Services 0 10,320 K
oodiag.exe 4340 Services 0 15,724 K
vdsldr.exe 4540 Services 0 6,508 K
NVIDIA Web Helper.exe 4712 Console 1 3,824 K
PubMonitor.exe 4748 Console 1 2,300 K
nvcontainer.exe 4888 Console 1 102,524 K
svchost.exe 5180 Services 0 10,528 K
SearchIndexer.exe 5452 Services 0 29,168 K
conhost.exe 5504 Console 1 5,412 K
svchost.exe 5556 Services 0 6,224 K
svchost.exe 5864 Services 0 97,292 K
WUDFHost.exe 6004 Services 0 7,484 K
wmpnetwk.exe 4352 Services 0 12,132 K
svchost.exe 5528 Services 0 18,872 K
GoogleCrashHandler.exe 2108 Services 0 528 K
GoogleCrashHandler64.exe 4956 Services 0 528 K
svchost.exe 6264 Services 0 23,788 K
U3BoostSvr64.exe 6520 Console 1 528 K
AlertHelper.exe 7020 Console 1 580 K
wuauclt.exe 2876 Console 1 8,756 K
firefox.exe 3240 Console 1 25,768 K
firefox.exe 3300 Console 1 25,744 K
[/QUOTE]

Today I was playing ultima online using what's called my power hour (a term in the game, nothing to do with networking), but I had to sign-in several times after being disconnected. I power-cycled the router and sofar I've had no disconnects from it since I did it about 5 hours ago...........edit- until right now a few minutes after this post.
PC person is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2019, 03:48 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


I wonder also if the demand on the router/modem is too much. We have FIVE roku's for our tv's, and last night my parents were both using it, and I got frequent disconnects every few minutes. But, maybe that isn't it. I power cycled the router after that, which presumably would have disconnected them from the roklu's and I was still getting disconnected.
PC person is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 05:47 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Best test, get an ethernet cable and connect to the router for testing.

This will confirm whether it's simply another wifi issue, or if there is an actual issue with the router/ISP.

This is need to know information before you start making changes (which could actually make things worse).
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 07-12-2019, 04:23 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 89
OS: Windows 10



I see nordvpn as one of the services running. Could it be that your VPN, since it is a proxy server, is interfering with the game? Sometimes using a VPN (proxy) could go against some online game's terms of service. It may be the reason you are still getting random disconnects. Try playing Ultima online without the VPN active. If it still gives you disconnects on Ultima online then it may be something else.

As one other user pointed out you may have another device that is taking up bandwidth, or has been set as the default high traffic device. This happened to me a while back where instead of getting disconnected frequently, it appeared that my cell phone was given the highest privilege over all other devices instead of my pc.

Do you have another pc close enough to your router to access the router page whilst being connected to it via ethernet cable?

If you do you may also want to try simply turning off the wifi broadcaster on the unit for a few minutes, maybe 10, and then turning back on the wifi broadcaster. This will reset everything with the wifi chips inside of your router. Power cycling the router will not reset the wifi chips. Turning off the wifi signal broadcaster will. To do this you just simply need to turn off all wireless functions in the router page. If you search for the right setting to turn off in your router it should be something simple to do. Worth a try as it baffled me through 2 different routers. I bought a brand new modem and router (375 dollars spent) only to find out some weird crap was happening between my cell phone and what ever it connected to. When I turned off the wifi signal and turned it back on it was fixed like magic on both routers.

Another thing you may want to look into is if your router has some form of media prioritization. You may need to set some limits to all other devices with your main gaming pc with the highest slice of Internet pie. If your modem router combo does not have any sort of media prioritization, then you may want to try setting the ip lease times to 30 minutes, and then turning all other wireless devices off. Or turning off the wifi button on all other devices before you start playing the game.

If there are other users in your house that have to have a wifi connection then media prioritization is the way to go. You may end up buying a router if your combo modem router doesn't support it.
The_Con-Sept is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 05:46 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
I see nordvpn as one of the services running. Could it be that your VPN, since it is a proxy server, is interfering with the game? Sometimes using a VPN (proxy) could go against some online game's terms of service. It may be the reason you are still getting random disconnects. Try playing Ultima online without the VPN active. If it still gives you disconnects on Ultima online then it may be something else.
No, I don't use it when I play games.

Quote:
Do you have another pc close enough to your router to access the router page whilst being connected to it via ethernet cable?
I have a laptop I can use.

Quote:
If you do you may also want to try simply turning off the wifi broadcaster on the unit for a few minutes, maybe 10, and then turning back on the wifi broadcaster. This will reset everything with the wifi chips inside of your router. Power cycling the router will not reset the wifi chips. Turning off the wifi signal broadcaster will. To do this you just simply need to turn off all wireless functions in the router page. If you search for the right setting to turn off in your router it should be something simple to do. Worth a try as it baffled me through 2 different routers. I bought a brand new modem and router (375 dollars spent) only to find out some weird crap was happening between my cell phone and what ever it connected to. When I turned off the wifi signal and turned it back on it was fixed like magic on both routers.
Ok, I can try this.

Quote:
Another thing you may want to look into is if your router has some form of media prioritization. You may need to set some limits to all other devices with your main gaming pc with the highest slice of Internet pie.
It's a family router, I don't think they'd appreciate me prioritizing my pc over the roku's/other computers, then they'd get disconnected.

Quote:
If your modem router combo does not have any sort of media prioritization, then you may want to try setting the ip lease times to 30 minutes, and then turning all other wireless devices off. Or turning off the wifi button on all other devices before you start playing the game.
some new terms for me, I'll see what the router page shows me, I'm not sure totally of what it all means/how to use it

Quote:
If there are other users in your house that have to have a wifi connection then media prioritization is the way to go. You may end up buying a router if your combo modem router doesn't support it
Pretty much all this week I didn't get disconnected from the game, until yesterday, I think it happens the most when the roku's are being used.
PC person is offline  
Old 07-15-2019, 09:07 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 89
OS: Windows 10



The media prioritization works like more of a comb where you can set the teeth a certain width apart. For example in my setup I have my internet bandwidth download speed at around 55mbps. So I set mine to have 4000kbps for my connection seeing that I pay for the isp, but the leeches want some connectivity as well. So I leave them 1500kbps. No connection gets throttled unless one is using netflix.

If they pay their fare share of Internet then simply cut it in half by having the media prioritization set to half. 55mbps is equal to about 5500kbps. So 2750kbps is perfect. [2.725 megabytes per second.] But if it is in thirds then set yours to around 1550 mbps. This garuntees that the other two ip addresses do not clinch off your Internet connection. Without causing any harm to the others unless both are going off at the same time. Sadly the media prioritization only works like a fork with only two ways to go. It can not become a 4 way intersection. At least not yet.

The ip lease time is the ip release function. Set it to 30 minutes so the router isn't constantly reserving the same ip address for 24 hours. Sure the devices may reconnect within a day, but setting the ip release to thirty minutes may end up refreshing channels automatically every thirty minutes instead of days.

So again. If it is your router, and you are paying for the isp in any situation it is in your name. Reserve some internet bandwidth to yourself. Otherwise you will always be unhappy. Most gamers only need a 1.5 mbps connection to fully enjoy online gaming. Most streaming services take up roughly the same amount. But netflix like streaming services usually have packages that get downloaded within a few seconds and then they play on the unit. So the rokus can take turns taking bandwidth from each other.
The_Con-Sept is offline  
Old 07-19-2019, 07:04 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
Best test, get an ethernet cable and connect to the router for testing.

This will confirm whether it's simply another wifi issue, or if there is an actual issue with the router/ISP.

This is need to know information before you start making changes (which could actually make things worse).
Know where I could find instructions on how to do the test? Do I just leave my laptop connected via ethernet and see if it's gets disconnected?
PC person is offline  
Old 07-22-2019, 04:23 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 89
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by PC person View Post
Know where I could find instructions on how to do the test? Do I just leave my laptop connected via ethernet and see if it's gets disconnected?
Exactly. Try using just the ethernet cable being plugged in to see if the problem persists even connected via ethernet cord. If it clinches off your connection completely then it is a bandwidth issue.
The_Con-Sept is offline  
Old 07-23-2019, 06:04 AM   #11
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


As noted above, just connect via ethernet and perform whatever actions that you are currently doing and seeing the problem.

If the problem continues, we know it isn't wifi (and vice versa).
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts