Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Is this comcasts problem?

This is a discussion on Is this comcasts problem? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Since moving to a different home a few months ago, which was in the next town over (just a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-30-2016, 07:53 PM   #1
Oh! What shall I be?
 
Snoopdogie187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,739
OS: Windows 7 Pro

My System


Hi,
Since moving to a different home a few months ago, which was in the next town over (just a few miles away) from where I was previously, the internet always seems to have time out issues, generally at night, pretty much ever day, if not ever day, a few times a day. Sometimes they don't last too long, other times they seem to last longer.
I have comcast cable internet, with my own Motorola SB6121

I check the modem signal page whenever I have an issue and it always looks like the attached picture. The logs (also attached) also seem to always show that there was a no response problem that caused the drop connection issue.

I've checked what signal levels I could through the modem and they always seem fine when I check them.
The modem is now on a direct connection to the line coming in from outside, with no other splits. I changed this about a month ago since it would first split then go to the upstairs (where the modem is) and another branch going to the down stairs (where nothing has been connected, but a lot of lines run to 4 outlets I think). This didn't change anything, still the same problem, with the same connection speed, but maybe marginally better signal strengths.

I don't have time to schedule an appointment with Comcast at the moment, so I was wondering if this was on my end, or is this a problem that comcast will have to fix?
Thank you

Edit: I noticed that the signal values are a little different when I have the dropped service, so I also uploaded a picture with the normal signal values I usually have.

Also, sorry if I missed anything, this is right before my bed time, so I'm already getting sleepy. Need to be up in about 6 hours.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	comcast cable.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	231.3 KB
ID:	283242   Click image for larger version

Name:	comcast cable2.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	543.3 KB
ID:	283250   Click image for larger version

Name:	normal signal.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	176.3 KB
ID:	283258  

Snoopdogie187 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2016, 01:29 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
MitchConner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,290
OS: IOS, NX-OS, JunOS, TMOS



Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoopdogie187 View Post
The logs (also attached) also seem to always show that there was a no response problem that caused the drop connection issue.
Hi mate.

This is normally caused by upstream noise. The fault is either with your router, the cabling, one of your splitters or (from memory) over subscription at the upstream cmts.

Check all your internal cabling then give your ISP a call.
__________________

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
MitchConner is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 08:59 PM   #3
Oh! What shall I be?
 
Snoopdogie187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,739
OS: Windows 7 Pro

My System


Thank you. There is no splitters right now, but there is one coaxial extension (which would be on the outside of the house).

When I know there is a less possibility of rain, I will run a temp wire just to make sure its not the wire inside the house.

I wouldn't think its the router since I had the same one before I moved, and also used it with a different modem at a different location for a month to test something before.

Thank you again.
Snoopdogie187 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2016, 02:48 PM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
MitchConner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,290
OS: IOS, NX-OS, JunOS, TMOS



I don't think it's your router either mate, my gut is on either cabling or over subscription, but it can be a cause so I wouldn't necessarily rule it out.
__________________

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
MitchConner is offline  
Old 06-16-2016, 04:04 PM   #5
Oh! What shall I be?
 
Snoopdogie187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,739
OS: Windows 7 Pro

My System


I replaced the cable from the ground point on the outside of the house to the modem. So far no problems, and everything seems a little better. Slightly better signals levels also.
Snoopdogie187 is offline  
Old 06-16-2016, 04:10 PM   #6
Moderator - Networking
 
MitchConner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,290
OS: IOS, NX-OS, JunOS, TMOS



Great stuff. Let me know if you have any further problems.
__________________

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
MitchConner is offline  
Old 08-19-2017, 07:56 AM   #7
Oh! What shall I be?
 
Snoopdogie187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,739
OS: Windows 7 Pro

My System


I still had the issue. I was kind of just living with it, especially after comcast was a little less helpful in helping me when I called them. I did have someone come out also specifically for this problem, and he didn't really do anything.
I had to call out for a different reason more recently, because the grounding point fell apart, and there was no service at all.
I asked that tech about my issue and he quickly replaced the drop line from the pole.
While another worker was at the pole (pole is across the street from the house), he discovered there was another problem at the pole.
Since they left, I haven't had another issue.
Snoopdogie187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Gremlins or hardware problem?
Several symptoms, I can't tell if this is a hardwre or software problem 1. machine has become very slow, 2. Firefox freezes, when it starts it may open five or six tabs. 3. wireless mouse stops working, touch pad fails at the same time. 4. Sometimes freezes on the welcome screen, and...
Gene145 Resolved HJT Threads 20 08-07-2015 07:49 AM
New hard drive, huge problem.
Alright, so here's the deal. A while back my hard drive over heated and broke, so I bought one off a friend that used to work at a computer repair shop. So he came over and put the hard drive in for me. We started up my laptop (HP Mini 110-1000), it comes up with a blue screen for a split...
JazzyCupcakes Hard Drive Support 2 12-17-2012 06:56 PM
Toshiba Blue Screens and Freezes
Hello, I've been getting BSODs and constant freezes for a while now. They started happening right after my laptop was forcibly turned off by a dead battery. OS - Windows 7 64-bit Windows 7 OEM version (came pre-installed on system) Age of system (hardware) 2 years (2010) Age of...
Orbacedo BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 11-14-2012 06:06 PM
Halo 2 Won't install i hate it...
Hey, I just bought halo 2 at the store and i tought hmm fun game but then when i wanted to install the game it says Microsoft directx has stopped working and then i can't install the game... because i need to close the installation. I already have DX. 11 And got HD Readen 4770, AMD...
Takehofstra Game Installation Support 1 02-26-2011 07:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts