Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Internet Speeds slow overtime (Daily)

This is a discussion on Internet Speeds slow overtime (Daily) within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have been having trouble with my internet connection for some time now. When I come home from work,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2017, 06:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S. Kentucky
Posts: 50
OS: windows 8


Evil

Hi, I have been having trouble with my internet connection for some time now. When I come home from work, and sit down to play some games the internet is so bad I can't enjoy any kind of online gaming.

Recently I found that if I unplug and reset the router it fixes the problem. But, Over time the problem re-occurs everyday.
During slow periods I can see speeds as low as 2mbs or even lower than that at times. I am paying for 35mbs and can only get that after a hard reset of the modem/router combo.

I suspect it may be throttling or a bad gateway, We don't pay for cable or sattellite so my wife streams all day long, Non-stop with multiple devices for a majority of the day.

Any advice would be appreciated and thanks in advance for taking the time to help.

This (ipconfig /all) Result is during optimal performance after the reset. If it would help isolate the issue by doing this in terrible performance mode I can do so just let me know.


Wired
TWC (Spectrum)
Cable
Arris tg1672g
Windows 10
Windows Defender

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.14393]
(c) 2016 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Justin>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP-EA5MDOG
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D0-50-99-8E-C4-53
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2605:a000:634d:5200:7d32:868:b8f:1dfb(Preferred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2605:a000:634d:5200:81b1:e54a:cbe8:a052(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7d32:868:b8f:1dfb%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 13, 2017 9:05:21 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 13, 2017 10:05:50 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::beca:b5ff:fe80:2847%9
192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 63983769
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1E-50-B9-C1-D0-50-99-8E-C4-53
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
209.18.47.62
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{7DB7104A-78C7-4997-8B1A-1CA947595341}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6abd:d8:1b4c:3f57:fffd(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d8:1b4c:3f57:fffd%4(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 67108864
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1E-50-B9-C1-D0-50-99-8E-C4-53
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Justin>
FPS_prodigy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2017, 07:44 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 258
OS: Windows 7



First, I am not a fan of ISP gateways. I find they don't work well, especially for gaming.

With that said, you have a phone/internet wireless gateway. Does the phone go out when the internet disconnects?

Last, can you post your signal levels? Should be available 192.168.0.1 (user:admin password:password) and should look like this.

Deleted 03/18/17 is offline  
Old 03-13-2017, 09:55 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S. Kentucky
Posts: 50
OS: windows 8



FPS_prodigy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2017, 10:01 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S. Kentucky
Posts: 50
OS: windows 8



Yes, when the internet disconnects so does the phone it is a VOIP service. We no longer use the voice service and as such I am thinking about buying a modem router combo or gateway.
FPS_prodigy is offline  
Old 03-13-2017, 10:51 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 258
OS: Windows 7



Those signal levels are very bad. Are there any splitters or amps between where the cable wire comes into the house and where it connects to the gateway?
Deleted 03/18/17 is offline  
Old 03-14-2017, 05:02 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S. Kentucky
Posts: 50
OS: windows 8



There are multiple splitters, Since I live in an appartment complex its almost unnavoidable. I could possibly try a new line running into the house since I am using the original wiring that was built into this appartment since the 60s-70s. There is however a cable blocker filter on the line since I don't pay for cable. This could also be an issue. We did have an outage of service yesterday for about 8 hours now things seem to be better so far, Maybe the problem was solved in this.
FPS_prodigy is offline  
Old 03-14-2017, 06:55 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 258
OS: Windows 7



For every splitter you are dividing the signal by more then half, since there is some lost in the conversion process too. You want the most direct route from the street to the modem. Since you don't pay for cable, I don't see any reason why your provider can't run a direct line to you. As for the filter, AFAIK all cable providers in the US are encrypted and require a cable box for a signal. Since you need a box for cable, you don't need a filter anymore to stop cable. Hopefully a new direct line and removing the filter will fix your problem.

::Edit:: Do you have TWC? Not sure if they require encryption. Since the TWC/Spectrum thing, all the regulations are a mess. I think there might still be some areas not encrypted?

https://www.timewarnercable.com/en/s...-adapters.html

https://www.timewarnercable.com/en/s...tarter-tv.html

https://www.timewarnercable.com/en/s...onversion.html
Deleted 03/18/17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell is running SO SLOW
Hi, I know next to nothing about most of what I'm finding on this site, but the step-by-steps are helpful! My Dell Insprion 1525 is running so slow, I can barely even run internal scans to find out what's wrong. It just took over 90 minutes to run my "Windows Experience Index." iTunes is no...
rebel150 Resolved HJT Threads 15 07-05-2012 09:28 AM
search netsite virus
I am having trouble with the browser redirect virus. When I click a website on the google search page it takes me to search netsite webpage. If I paste that url directly there is no issue. Tried all anti virus, malware, spyware, combifix and so on.. nothing works pls help
amy123a Inactive Malware Help Topics 25 03-20-2012 10:58 PM
Computer Virus/Trojan Problems
Amateur. First may I thank you for responding to my request for help. I have compiled the following List of Problems that I am aware of on my computer. Windows is being stopped from updating. Trend Micro is being stopped from updating.
Jack Willday Inactive Malware Help Topics 65 07-13-2011 12:57 AM
Possible virus/trojan?
Hi I have a Dell Inspiron desktop (Vista, SP1) which will not run any Microsoft updates, I am wondering whether it might have been affected by a virus. I have run an attached the reports you asked for. To date I have run Malwarebytes and Norton Internet security. I still cannot run updates...
Tiridhe Resolved HJT Threads 12 05-21-2011 06:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts