Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

How can I check who is logged on to my wi-fi network

This is a discussion on How can I check who is logged on to my wi-fi network within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I will be changing my broadband provider shortly and will be using a HUB 3.0 (Modem-wireless router). Is there any


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2016, 05:32 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I will be changing my broadband provider shortly and will be using a HUB 3.0 (Modem-wireless router).

Is there any way that I can check how many users are connected (password protected) to the network. It's in a holiday home and I want to be sure that the password has not been cracked).

I'm not sure if this is a generic thing or specific to the make/model of router.

T
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2016, 05:56 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,997
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


There are paid 3rd party apps for this. I can't make a recommendation. Hopefully someone has used one and will report here.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 06:07 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Corday
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2016, 06:50 AM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


You could simply log into the router and look.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 07:23 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks JimE

I would have absolutely no clue as to where to look or, more importantly, what to look for. Hence me search for assistance.

If there is a way to do this, I would also be looking for instructions of how to "kill" a user and block them (should I fin dsomeone who is not authorised to use the network).

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 05:46 AM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Assuming you are onsite/local, you simply go to the router (typically by typing the router IP into your browser) and then login using the user name and password that you created when you set it up. From there it varies based on the model. But there is always a page that shows all connected users (wired and wifi). You can typically just right click and delete, which removes the user, but that isn't going to do much if they have the login information. The easiest solution is to simply change the login and password frequently and use complex passwords.

If you want to spend the time blocking users, you will need to take note of their mac address and you can then prevent that device from connecting. But again, if they know the login/password, they could simply reconnect with another device or if it's a PC, spoof their mac.


EDIT: I will also add that as this is an ISP supplied device, your access and ability to configure or change anything is likely very restricted. So again, you best bet is to simply change and use complex passwords.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 06:02 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hi JimE

Thanks for the update. I'll try that next time I'm in the property.

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 06:33 AM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,313
OS: Windows 10 Pro



If it's password protected and using the WPA2 with TKIP/AES set......then the only ones connected should be the ones with the password. If not then the password has been given out.

Depending on modem/router brand....you enter the modem/router page by typing in 192.168.x.x - x = either a 0 - 1 or 1 - 0 in your browser. You can look that up. Then you go to the security settings tab and check your settings as noted above. Then you go to the wireless tab and look for IP address connections.

you can use the cmd prompt as well....open cmd prompt and type in ipconfig and that will list your routers ip address, then type that in your browser.


__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 06:59 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks bassfisher6522

T
tomohawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory-Related BSODs on ASUS with Windows 10
I have this ASUS laptop, which I bought a year ago. I think I remember getting blue screens of death within a month of two of using it but have avoided sending it off because I don't want to go a week or two without a computer if I can avoid it. The computer has been upgraded to Windows 10, and...
RogerWazup007 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 01-02-2016 11:26 AM
BSOD 0x1A running Viber 3.1.1.60 on W7x64
Hello. I've installed Viber for Windows onto my stable system. Now I'm getting occasionally a BSOD 0x1A during first running hour. Now I killed the Viber app after Windows start and work ok for 3 hours. The Viber log.log file says: Product version 3.0.0.133634 The viber.exe file version is...
pieceofbrain BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 09-28-2013 08:43 AM
Lost lease to IP address on network card
Hi all, I have been using VM for about 6 years, very good. I have stared with an intermittent dropping of connection over last 3 days. ……dhcp error... Your computer has lost the lease to its IP address ***.***.***.* on the Network Card with network address… So far; 1, checked VM status area...
thunderbird1 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 4 09-03-2011 02:49 PM
Antivirus Antimaleware 2011!
Hello everyone, A few days ago my computer was being slow, requiring frequent restarts, freezing a lot, etc etc. Today I got Antivirus Antimaleware 2011 madness popping up on my computer telling me that I had tons of viruses, I am going to die, world is going to hell in a handbasket and...
lolerary Inactive Malware Help Topics 11 04-03-2011 06:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts