Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

High data usage for LTE modem to reconnect?

This is a discussion on High data usage for LTE modem to reconnect? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there. I have a question that has been puzzling me for quite some time. One of out clients have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2017, 10:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Hi there.

I have a question that has been puzzling me for quite some time.

One of out clients have a LTE modem that continuously loses connection. Obviously it has to use some data to reconnect to the internet, right. But what I noticed is that it uses a lot of data to do so... why?

Basically, if anyone knows, I just want to know how much data a LTE modem uses to reconnect it self to the internet?

Kind Regards
GalaxyDefender is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2017, 07:14 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


How are you measuring the data usage? Connecting/reconnecting to the network shouldn't count against data usage.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 05-12-2017, 08:39 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



you should be more concerned about what the modem logs say concerning the disconnects.
GentleArrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2017, 10:15 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
How are you measuring the data usage? Connecting/reconnecting to the network shouldn't count against data usage.
Well, I am just working on the assumption that it uses data, because they got a massive bill on data usage! It's either that or someone is hacking their system...
GalaxyDefender is offline  
Old 05-14-2017, 10:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by GentleArrow View Post
you should be more concerned about what the modem logs say concerning the disconnects.
Ok, how do you monitor your modem logs? Is there a third party application that can help you monitor it?
GalaxyDefender is offline  
Old 05-15-2017, 09:29 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



You lookup the make and model of router on the internet then download the manual.
You monitor the logs by logging into the router and reviewing them. The manual will tell you how.

exact make/model of this LTE modem ?
modem or modem router combo?

Won't be the modem racking up the charges. They don't work like that.

Off the bat the router admin login password should be changed as well as the wifi password to something complex not a pets name. Then login to the router and review who/what is connecting.
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 05-17-2017, 08:50 AM   #7
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


It's entirely possible that they don't understand how much data it takes to do whatever they are doing. And they are likely exceeding the data limit, thus the high charges.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suspicious.Cloud.7.F, Trojan.Maljava, and others
Hi, A couple of days ago, I came to my computer and saw that Norton 360 had discovered several bugs and reported that it was unable to remove them. Here's the list: Suspicious.Cloud.7.F Trojan.Maljava Suspicious.Cloud.7.F Suspicious.Cloud.7.F Suspicious.Cloud.7.F WS.Malware.1 WS.Malware.2
frokey Resolved HJT Threads 34 03-12-2013 05:09 PM
My poor neighbor slow running with ads everywhere
My neighbor asked me for help, and I had mentioned the success I had with your help sometime back with my own PC. Their PC is running disastrously slow and gets pop up advertising every few seconds. Here's the DDS I ran from their machine: DDS (Ver_2012-11-20.01) - NTFS_AMD64 Internet...
dandoming Resolved HJT Threads 27 01-23-2013 10:41 PM
windows 7 freezes during startup
i have been having issues since friday my computer seems to freeze on startup. it gets to the welcome screen and freezes. someone recommended doing a boot log but i don't know how to know what it means. the whole thing is to long but here is the last part someone please help Loaded...
mucwen Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 12-11-2011 08:32 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts