Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Having problems connecting a router

This is a discussion on Having problems connecting a router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay so im on my laptop and it has windows xp, I was over at my moms house and i


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2013, 04:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista (desktop) Windows xp (Laptop service pack 5)



Okay so im on my laptop and it has windows xp, I was over at my moms house and i was connecting to The wireless internet just fine everywhere, WHen i finally got home i went to connect to my own wireless (Which my xbox an desktop computer connect to flawlessly) SO i Type in my network key (the same one i used for my xbox and desktop...lol obviously :P) and for some reason it sits there connecting connecting connecting than just boots me back to the list of wireless networks, Dosent give me a reason for not connecting. Gives me no information what so ever, Im on this laptop right now Using an Ethernet cable to connect to the internet but it's really aggravating me, Im pretty damn savy with computers but Without a reason for it not connecting i cant troubleshoot the problem myself, Anyone ever had any experience with this? Can help me out? I am STUMPED!!!!
donnypatts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2013, 05:04 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



You could try going into Network and Sharing Center/Manage wireless settings and Remove the SSIDs - reboot then try to reconnect via the system tray.

If that doesn't do it then as an administrator from the cmd prompt type then Enter each of these cmds -

netsh winsock reset catalog
netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /registerdns

Reboot.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 03-11-2013, 05:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista (desktop) Windows xp (Laptop service pack 5)



Tried all of that now it wont even find the wireless networks. but the ethernet is working...
donnypatts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2013, 06:31 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Probably best to factory reset the router then.

I've always found it's best to remove the SSID from the registry prior to doing this with the router and then you don't get SSID2.

To do this - from Start type regedit > Enter > Yes on the UAC then navigate -

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/Microsoft/Windows NT/CurrentVersion/NetworkList/Profiles

There should be two entries for yours and one for your mom's SSID and clicking on each will produce their info in the right pane.

One of them will be listed as Network which is your LAN.

Right click on each of those for the SSIDs and select Delete then do the same for the corresponding ones in Signatures/Unmanaged below the Profiles folder.

You can leave the one for Network.

If you wish, you can back up the Profiles and Signatures folders first via File/Export, naming them so you can ID which is which.

Close the registry sections back up then File/Exit and switch the pc off then factory reset the router, by holding in something like an opened paperclip into the small hole on the back of the router for about 20 secs.

When it has reinitialized, wire up and switch the computer back on and set the router up as out of the box with your ISP's details.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 03-11-2013, 06:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista (desktop) Windows xp (Laptop service pack 5)



Im not going to factory reset the router, My desktop computer, Xbox, My sister in laws desktop computer Can all connect to this router flawlessly, The router is not the problem.
donnypatts is offline  
Old 03-11-2013, 07:14 PM   #6
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 936
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



have you thought of buying a wireless usb router for the latptop if this one is not working?
steve32mids is offline  
Old 03-13-2013, 09:56 AM   #7
Networking Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 7,371
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Please verify that all your Network Services are Started.
Click on Start, type services.msc then press enter.

• COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
• Computer Browser is set to manual
• DHCP Client
• DNS Client
• Network Connections
• Network Location Awareness
• Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
• Server
• TCP/IP Netbios helper
• Wired Autoconfig is set to manual(wired ethernet connections only).
• Wireless Zero Configuration ( XP wireless configurations only)
• WLAN AutoConfig ( Vista/7 wireless configurations only)
• Workstation
TheCyberMan is offline  
Old 03-13-2013, 12:41 PM   #8
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



please download and run xirrus wifi inspector. Post a screen shot of what it sees.
review the networking section in Device managers. No yellow exclaimation points?

Are you still able to connect to other wifi networks outside of your house?
Wand3r3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Published: What's the Best Router?
Selecting the right router and what’s applicable for your network can be difficult. It all depends on what type of Broadband connection you have; one can behave differently than others. I hear this all the time and I have been asked the same question - 'What's the Best Router for me'? I just...
2xg Dead-Sea Scrolls 16 04-01-2012 03:45 PM
My Linksys router WRT54G isn't connecting to the DNS server .. Please HELP!!!!
Hello I have a linksys router WRT54G connected to a modem supplied to me by Time Warner Cable. Just last night, for some reason my internet stopped working. After calling Time Warner Cable internet support, I found out that the modem is working. If I connect my laptop (Dell model which is ...
mamedu Networking Support 1 11-16-2011 11:15 AM
Published: How to Convert a Second Router into a Wireless Bridge
If you are planning to expand your wireless home network and want it all wire-free and no cabling cluttering up your home, you may be able to turn a second wireless router into a Bridge; even an old router would do by using a DD-WRT free firmware. Do not attempt to make a Client Bridge with...
2xg Dead-Sea Scrolls 0 11-03-2011 10:27 AM
Belkin N Router connecting to G Modem/Router
hey all i have been frustrated to the very core over the past 2 nights, and i was hoping you guys could help me more then Belkin Support/AOL support have.Forgive me if i complicate things in the explination. I recently purchased a new Belkin N wireless router, model number (F5D8236-4 V3), i am...
greggregjub Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 6 10-29-2011 10:43 AM
[Published] Resetting your router
From 2xg Images to be added ================================= General Router Reset for Linksys, Netgear, D-Link and Belkin Routers: There are a variety of reasons why a Router needs to be reset to the factory default setting. Forgotten or lost router password. Complicated Issues with...
DonaldG Dead-Sea Scrolls 6 05-20-2011 10:13 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts