Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

DSL Modem (bonded)

This is a discussion on DSL Modem (bonded) within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Windstream customer. Hate it, but only service available. Wanting to use aftermarket modem because their modems keep going bad on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2020, 09:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
OS:



Windstream customer. Hate it, but only service available.

Wanting to use aftermarket modem because their modems keep going bad on me after a couple of months. This seems to be a popular model:
https://www.amazon.com/MOTOROLA-Giga...language=en_US
But it says it is not compatible with bonded DSL.
The modem that Windstream sends me has the two DSL1 and DSL2 lights on the back.

Is there a modem out there that I can use that is compatible with bonded DSL?
mhagler12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2020, 09:47 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,995
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Linksys EA7500 and Motorola MD1600
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 10:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Linksys EA7500 and Motorola MD1600
The first one provided does not look like it has the connection for the VDSL/phone cord.

The second one is the same one that I posted above that does not support bonded DSL.
mhagler12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2020, 11:19 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 89
OS: Windows 10



I have no experience with this Internet Service Provider. This is a completely new company to me as I am not sure how they operate. On their website it does not say what type of DSL they have. ADSL, VDSL, or just plain DSL.

I own all of my own equipment and have used Century Link before. So I have one of their standard routers at best.

Let me see what I can dig up and see if there is anything worth it. (May take me a few hours.)
The_Con-Sept is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 11:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Con-Sept View Post
I have no experience with this Internet Service Provider. This is a completely new company to me as I am not sure how they operate. On their website it does not say what type of DSL they have. ADSL, VDSL, or just plain DSL.

I own all of my own equipment and have used Century Link before. So I have one of their standard routers at best.

Let me see what I can dig up and see if there is anything worth it. (May take me a few hours.)
After speaking to a rep on the live chat, all they could tell me is that I needed a VDSL2 bonded modem.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I have yet to find anything through searching for one of these that will apply to bonded DSL.
mhagler12 is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 11:42 AM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,995
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Please PM your area. I see 18 ISP providers where you seem to be.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 11:50 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Please PM your area. I see 18 ISP providers where you seem to be.
ISP is Windstream
mhagler12 is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 11:58 AM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,995
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by mhagler12 View Post
ISP is Windstream
I knew that. I don't think they're giving you the right info. That's why I wanted to see what else was offered in your area.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 12:27 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 89
OS: Windows 10



A few people have pointed towards a new company for products surrounding a "bonded" connection.

This bonded connection means they have you connecting to two different forms of a Digital Service Line. Sort of like a bit torrent program setup.

====Unrelated but helpful info=====
So you need to be able to connect to two different DSL lines at the same time. Sort of the other side of the coin in a bit torrent program. Instead of downloading everything from a bunch of computers connected to the internet using various lines coming in, this company has set out to do one thing: Turn a DSL company into a bit torrent operation to get the customer a better connection speed wise. I am not sure how this would fare with a video gaming service as video games typically require the internet connection to come from one connection specifically. As a split up internet connection is something developers may not be used to yet. If you are experiencing connection drops in a video game using this service then the issue is not really with the ISP, but the unpreparedness of the development teams behind the video games. This would require an IT programmer to get involved with the games production to be able to accept information coming from two different origin points instead of coming from one lane of traffic. And like a bit torrent program it is taking the users signal, splitting it up and having to gather the information by sending packets of data between the two lines to the end user. Which is why I take it as the other side of the coin to a bit torrent program.
===== End of unrelated but useful info. ====

So to make things simple I am going to call these Bond routers. So a bond router is what you are looking for. If it does not support bonded connections then you need to look for something else.
Specifically you need to see this in the products description page:
"RJ-14 X1 for Multi DSL Bonded"

The bond routers I have found:

https://www.comtrend.com/Product/94$prod.html
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/95$prod.html (This one supports Voice Over Internet Protocol)
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/96$prod.html
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/97$prod.html (This one supports Voice Over Internet Protocol)
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/98$prod.html (Non WiFi modem, No VOIP)

These modems are a start and they all come from COMTREND.

However a buy link is not included.
I can not find anywhere that sells these. Not even on amazon in america.

Netgear was kind enough to give us this information:
https://kb.netgear.com/30296/What-is-VDSL-Bonding

And Netgear said towards the end of this article that they do not have any modems available to use for a bonded connection.
---So that is one big company OUT of this game for now. Nothing from Netgear will work with your internet setup.

Motorola has nothing for a bonded connection. The closest you can get to a bonded modem is an old Motorola NM55. But these things are extinct. If you can find one it might work but.... chances are slim as it is circa 2013. (Old technology.)
It may not be as fast as you want it to be.

D-Link? Nothing. Not even a mention.

Linksys? Linksys doesn't do DSL.

Actiontec? I mean actiontec is hard to talk to. but I do not think they want to leave centurylink any time soon. Unless of course Centurylink decides to do bonded connections in the future. Then actiontec may or may not be with centurylink anymore.

You have an internet connection setup that is considered a minority over the majority. So finding a bonded DSL modem in America right now is extremely difficult. I can't find anything online for a bonded modem in America.

I at least found a few modems that do exists. But purchasing one right now is.... I hate to say it. Damn near impossible.
The_Con-Sept is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 01:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
I knew that. I don't think they're giving you the right info. That's why I wanted to see what else was offered in your area.
Oh, sorry. I've checked before. Nothing else offered in my area. Cox is available in town, but doesn't go all the way out to me. I only live two miles from a major highway. I don't understand why they won't run more lines out to us.

Zip is 72601
mhagler12 is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 01:56 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Con-Sept View Post
Actiontec? I mean actiontec is hard to talk to. but I do not think they want to leave centurylink any time soon. Unless of course Centurylink decides to do bonded connections in the future. Then actiontec may or may not be with centurylink anymore.

You have an internet connection setup that is considered a minority over the majority. So finding a bonded DSL modem in America right now is extremely difficult. I can't find anything online for a bonded modem in America.

I at least found a few modems that do exists. But purchasing one right now is.... I hate to say it. Damn near impossible.
Actiontec is what we have from Windstream. Looks like they make products for both Windstream and CenturyLink.

The T3200 is what we have that keeps crapping out on us. But, I also suspect that Windstream is giving us refurbished modems that have gone bad before and are destined to do the same.

If I could switch providers, I would. Our only other option is to go satellite, which I've heard is horrible. We only live two miles from a major highway, but Cox won't run lines out to us. That's the only other provider in the area.
mhagler12 is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 02:13 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Con-Sept View Post

The bond routers I have found:

https://www.comtrend.com/Product/94$prod.html
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/95$prod.html (This one supports Voice Over Internet Protocol)
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/96$prod.html
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/97$prod.html (This one supports Voice Over Internet Protocol)
https://www.comtrend.com/Product/98$prod.html (Non WiFi modem, No VOIP)
Found this:
https://shop.ptsupply.com/shop/Elect...D-LABEL-CUSTOM
That's the only one that you listed that I can find for sale and that's a pretty steep price.
mhagler12 is offline  
Old 01-16-2020, 11:35 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 89
OS: Windows 10



Wow that is surprising. I thought actiontec was always going to be happily married to century link for ever. Looking on their website they show the models you have with the windstream logo on it.

But once again looking for modems for sale from actiontec online is also returning absolutely 0 results. I think Windstream has an exclusive deal forcing customers to rent modems instead of buying their own. It must be their business model.
The_Con-Sept is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts