Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

DSL Frequent Disconnects all of a sudden

This is a discussion on DSL Frequent Disconnects all of a sudden within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Computers are connected via Ethernet to the router. Router Model: TP-Link VR400 Internet type: DSL Just one thing, I do


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2018, 03:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: windows xp



Computers are connected via Ethernet to the router.
Router Model: TP-Link VR400
Internet type: DSL

Just one thing, I do not have a handheld phone at home, it's just the router connected to the phone socket, nothing else.

Issue: So up until yesterday, my internet connection has been great, stable and fast enough to enjoy gaming online with no issues. Speedtests give me a download speed of around 15 mb/s, (which for Lebanon is awesome) and a ping to Europe of about 60ms.

Last night I got home, and discovered that my internet kept dropping every 30-60 seconds, reconnecting, dropping and so on. After about 2 hours of troubleshooting, and disregarding the ISP as the source of the problem, I discovered something in the router settings that helped....kind of...

In the advanced section of the DSL Settings, there was DSL Modulation Type, where you get to choose from a list of options, the default (and previously working) was Auto-Sync up, which I assumed chose ADSL2+ mode which gives you up to 24 mb/s download speed.

I changed this to ADSL2 and voila, the internet was stable as can be, no drops, no disconnects. I ran a speedtest and was disappointed to see that it was returning a maximum of 8mb/s instead of my usual 15 mb/s. I spoke to a friend and he said that there are noise bursts on your phone line causing this. When I switched to lower-grade type of modulation, it compensated for the noise on my line and made it more stable. If I switched back to ADSL2+, the signal wont compensate for the noise and will drop the line frequently.

Now that you know the issue, can anyone help me figure out how to solve this? How come all of a sudden there is noise on my line? How can I fix this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
ziadramman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2018, 08:10 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,592
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Is there noise on the line coming in? If so, it is a phone company problem. The only way to prove it though is to test it at the DEMARC. (The telephone connection box where the telephone line comes into your establishment). If you essentially unplug the house and test just the line coming from the phone company and it has noise, it is "their problem". If you unplug the house and do not have the noise, then it is in your house wiring or equipment. The next logical step would be to unplug any and all phone equipment, and test again with only one phone. If you still have noise in the house, unplug the DSL Modem. If it clears up, your DSL Modem is defective. BTW, be sure to retest with another phone to make sure the phone itself isn't introducing noise.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 08:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: windows xp


Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Is there noise on the line coming in? If so, it is a phone company problem. The only way to prove it though is to test it at the DEMARC. (The telephone connection box where the telephone line comes into your establishment). If you essentially unplug the house and test just the line coming from the phone company and it has noise, it is "their problem". If you unplug the house and do not have the noise, then it is in your house wiring or equipment. The next logical step would be to unplug any and all phone equipment, and test again with only one phone. If you still have noise in the house, unplug the DSL Modem. If it clears up, your DSL Modem is defective. BTW, be sure to retest with another phone to make sure the phone itself isn't introducing noise.
Thanks. I don't have an actual phone in my house to test for noise. But today I did notice that when the connection drops, my SNR margin drops from 12 to -8.1!

Nothing has changed in my house. I'm assuming it's either from the ISP or someone messed with the phone box downstairs. I'll check it from downstairs and find out if it's my house or the box. Thanks
ziadramman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2018, 01:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: windows xp



Thought Id update you in case anyone is still following this topic.

I managed to find a UPS battery and disconnect my entire home and just plug in the router to it, the drops kept happening. So I don't think electrical interference is the issue, at least in my house.

So now, I don't know what to do. I guess an engineer can come back and look at the condition of my line.
ziadramman is offline  
Old 03-09-2018, 07:03 AM   #5
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,592
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Years ago, when we lived in south Florida and had DSL, the phone company installed a new telephone line from the pole to the phone box on the back of the house. Doing so did solve the "noise" problem on the line. Sometimes, if there was a whole flock of birds on the line you could hear some slight interference. Other than that though, the "silence is golden".
SpywareDr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 VPN - spikes in ping causing frequent disconnects
I use F5 VPN for work (I'm a remote employee using my personal computer for work), and I log into the company's virtual private network each shift. I've been getting frequent disconnects from the VPN (this isn't typical - I don't recall having an issue like this with other VPNs, or any actual drops...
GuitarZeroZ312 Networking Support 0 11-29-2013 01:50 PM
Modem woes and frequent disconnects
Since about June 3rd, my formerly rock-steady Arris cable modem has been filling up with scads of errors, AND I am getting brief disconnects nearly every day. They are noticeable when I am gaming (just Pogo dot com) and especially when my Vonage VOIP calls briefly drop out (2 or 3 seconds). Prior...
Kebs Networking Support 5 06-18-2013 01:11 PM
AT&T Westell 6100 modem changing IPs over and over.
Hello,,,,, ,,,,and thanks for your time, help, and advice!!!! At my home I have a Westell 6100 DSL modem connected to a computer. AT&T is the ISP and all filters are installed. I use my home computer via VNC applications from a remote location and I began to notice that the VNC local...
jglong3 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 04-01-2012 03:16 PM
dsl modem / wireless router disconnects
I have a DSL connection (through Centurylink). The DSL modem is directly connected to a NetGear WNR2000 wirless N router. All is well except, I frequently get disconnected from the internet (typically when the weather is bad: cold weather, snow, wind, heavy rain). I have called the DSL...
Johncmug Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 01-16-2011 05:40 PM
Re: Frequent DHCP release/renew causing frequent disconnects
Hi - I have just encountered the same problem with the Belkin N router, The issue, I believe, is having the DHCP lease setting at 'forever' i.e. creating static IP's on the local network thus the system requiring 2x specific DNS addresses . Having amended this and rebooting the router the frequent...
Aweyer Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 01-10-2011 03:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts