Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Doofus issue.

This is a discussion on Doofus issue. within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, I made a boneheaded mistake about 2 years back when I installed my Motorla SBG 6580 Surfboard WiFi


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2017, 08:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma mini-me metro blob.
Posts: 173
OS: Win 7 Home Premium w/Service Pack 1



Hi all,

I made a boneheaded mistake about 2 years back when I installed my Motorla SBG 6580 Surfboard WiFi Cable Modem Gateway and set it up. I changed the password and failed to write it down. At about the same time I connected a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 to the modem also. Both my laptop and my tablet are connecting well....

However I'd like to add a 3rd item to the network and cannot without the password.

How can I

a) access the stored password so I can save or change it as needed, or
b) reset the password, to factory specs and then re-assign a new one?

Hopefully I'm asking the right questions.

Thanks
sojerguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2017, 06:27 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



You will have to reset your modem router to factory which will set it to the default user name and password. Google search on your model will give you those default credentials. Then its just a matter of doing the pin hole reset.
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 03-07-2017, 08:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 258
OS: Windows 7



Did you change the wireless(wifi) password or the username and password for the router itself? If you only changed the Wifi password, you can still log into the modem/router using the 192.168.0.1 IP in a web browser, and use user: admin password: motorola and then click on the wireless tab to change the wifi password. See here for more info.
Deleted 03/18/17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2017, 08:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma mini-me metro blob.
Posts: 173
OS: Win 7 Home Premium w/Service Pack 1



I apparently changed the name on the arris homepage as well.
sojerguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with video lag issue on Secondary monitor while gaming on Primary
Hi everyone, first off I'm new to this forum and I'm coming here as a last resort to try to figure out this issue. I have a custom PC I built in May 2013 that has all the bells and whistles. One disconcerting and rather annoying thing that happens is that while I'm gaming on my Primary monitor and...
whitejamesbr0wn PC Gaming Support 3 02-07-2014 12:12 PM
Looking to get better quality on my scans
I have HP C4180 All-in-one (print, scan, copy) Right now I'm trying to scan a yearbook that I never got myself, back when I was in middle school. I want to scan the whole thing and return it to the owner, who has not had it in months. Only thing is, I don't want the quality to be bad as I probably...
PC person Printer Support 4 06-15-2011 06:02 PM
XP Internet Connectivity Issue... Please help!
Okay... so, I've had this cheap laptop for a year and a half. It's actually been great so far, and I've never had any issues with it. Unfortunately, I am now posting from my desktop, in the hopes that one of you fantastic tech support gurus can help me. :pray: I'm having an issue connecting...
MCBeef Windows XP Support 1 03-14-2011 04:56 PM
Xbox Live Connection Issue (still works but odd issue)
I've had this issue for quite some time now, and I think it may be due to recovering my gamertag on a different console, switching harddrive and doing a recovery, or just switching my Xbox in general. So here is my issue: everytime I turn on my Xbox it will automatically sign me into Xbox live...
KingMiedus Online/Network Gaming Support 5 01-30-2011 01:51 PM
[SOLVED] HEADSET ISSUE: I hear my voice in my headphones.
I have XP 32-bit. The headset i am having problems with is called the Razer Carcharias. (yes, i have installed the appropriate drivers, please dont go there, i know you mean well but trust me.) HERES MY PROBLEM: Somehow, the sound going into my mic is being transmitted through my headset. As a...
Pez Dex Other Hardware Support 9 01-26-2011 02:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts