Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Defective Modems or Not?

This is a discussion on Defective Modems or Not? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Like most people in the USA I have broadband. When transitioning from dial-up to broadband I retained a dial-up service


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2016, 07:33 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
OS: WinXP Pro



Like most people in the USA I have broadband. When transitioning
from dial-up to broadband I retained a dial-up service as a backup.
There was a power and cable disaster in my town that lasted for
weeks. Phone landlines were uneffected, so I still had access to
the web. The additional cost is almost nothing.

Maybe I've just been lucky, but I can't remember any problems
with a modem that I couldn't resolve in 10 minutes or less.

I have two old laptops with 98SE. They both have Agere WinModems.
I can use any phone jack in my home and connect to the web in less
than one minute at 50666 bps. That's all the proof I need that my
phone lines are ok.

A few years ago I purchased three brand new Jaton WinComm V.92
modem cards. Intel/Ambient chipset. Drivers are Intel 536EP_v4.77.8.3.

I just replaced my old desktop modem with a new WinComm. I can
hear all the "handshaking" sounds clearly because the modem is plugged
into high quality speakers. After tinkering endlessly with all the modem
settings I can't get it to work.


Probem One:

Shortly after hearing the dial tone I get a "unable to detect dial tone"
dialog box. Clearing the tick from "wait for dial tone before dialing" is
a workaround for this problem, but it's not a good solution.

Problem Two:

After hearing the correct tones for the number dialed I can still hear
the dial tone! If don't terminate the connection by clicking the "cancel"
button I get that ubiquitous recorded message, "if you would like to make
a call, please hang up and try again."


I've tried at least a dozen string commands (copied from several modem
sites) in the "Extra Initialization Commands" box. Didn't help at all.

Since I have three new Jaton cards I deleted the modem from Device
Manager and pulled the card from my desktop tower. Installed a
replacement. The system failed to detect an identical card. I ran through
"Add New Hardware" several times. Finally, I tried command lines to
"force install" the drivers. Didn't work.

After all this trouble do you think it's possible I have three new modems
and they're all defective? At this point I would be happy to junk these modems
and buy a different brand.

In the town where I live there is always a chance of another power and cable
disaster. Retaining dial-up web access that costs almost nothing is just
common sense.

If you think I can salvage these new modems please tell me what to do. If
not, give me the name of a high quality modem card and I'll buy it.
Solaris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2016, 12:00 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
MitchConner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,290
OS: IOS, NX-OS, JunOS, TMOS



Hi mate.

It sounds like you might have your country/region settings set incorrectly, or (possibly less likely) you're dialing the wrong number.

Have you tried replacing the cabling as well?
__________________

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
MitchConner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
modems , fiber etc HELP!!!
Hello In Jan 2015 we will change from a coaxial internet service 50/10 mbits (arial type thing screws into a socket in wall and other end into a Netgear CG3100) Through the Towns network we got a much better deal and will get a 100/10 mbits serice that is run through fiber to the door , so I...
REMA1 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 9 10-09-2014 06:29 AM
About 4G Internet and Modems
Hello, recently a friend told me that i could use my phones 4g internet to make a hotspot wi-fi to use on my pc. So i was researching on the internet and found modems that can receive SIM cards use 4g internet and be very fast internet up to 300Mbps (as the modems say). So is this in any way true?...
Dave23 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 4 07-01-2014 11:18 AM
3G and 4G USB modems are a security threat, researcher says
3G and 4G USB modems are a security threat, researcher says | ITworld
JMH3143 Computer Security News 0 03-16-2013 03:23 PM
[SOLVED] HOW TO REPAIR DEFECTIVE MEMOREX DVD-RW DISCS
A couple of months ago, I purchased a 10-pack of DVD-RWs from our local Walmart Supercenter. When I got them home and inserted the first one into my DVD player (Magnovox ZC320MW8), it tried to format the disc, but almost immediately the notice came up "Recording Error Can not record on this disc." ...
Coastwizard Other Hardware Support 3 02-06-2013 07:00 AM
[SOLVED] MULTIPLE_IRP_COMPLETE_REQUESTS with 2 modems
The MULTIPLE_IRP_COMPLETE_REQUESTS topic has come up before, but I believe this situation is different. I can pin down exactly what is causing it :sigh: Unfortunately, the hardware manufacturer acknowledges the problem but says there is no fix. I am wondering if there is something within the...
jeth32 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 02-14-2011 06:44 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts