Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Can't find home's central Ethernet Hub, all ports are cabled.

This is a discussion on Can't find home's central Ethernet Hub, all ports are cabled. within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey! I've noticed that my house has built-in Cat5 ethernet for a while, and I've been looking to make use


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2017, 01:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Hey!

I've noticed that my house has built-in Cat5 ethernet for a while, and I've been looking to make use of it rather than buying a dual-band wireless router.

I've unscrewed the wall panels in each room that has an ethernet port, and every single one of them is cabled with Cat5 leading up into the wall. I can't find the central hub, however, and so I can't activate them. I have also attempted plugging cables into the router and wall in one room, and my PC and wall in the other room, and there was no connection, which rules out a single net of cables with one collision domain. There HAS to be a closet somewhere.

I've opened my telephone closet as I've heard that it's usually in there, but only the telephone and cable lines are in there. I've also checked all of my downstairs closets, every square inch of the garage, every closet within every room of the house, and behind all furniture. The hub is nowhere to be found.

The one place that I haven't checked is the attic, but my father(having worked in construction) is adamant that it would not have been placed up there for the time period that the house was built.


I was hoping that someone here could give me some common places to check that I may have overlooked.
FinneganTimothy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2017, 01:21 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Did you try closets?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 01:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Yup. Every closet in the house. It's not in any of them. even looked behind the shelves in the closets that have them.
FinneganTimothy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2017, 01:45 PM   #4
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 26,809
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2, Windows 10 Home x64



The Cat5 cables should all terminate near the telephone equipment. Check the ceiling in the telephone closet......the Cat5 may have been bundled up and placed there. Look for an access panel also.....they've got to be hidden somewhere.
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 01:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Did you try closets?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SABL View Post
The Cat5 cables should all terminate near the telephone equipment. Check the ceiling in the telephone closet......the Cat5 may have been bundled up and placed there. Look for an access panel also.....they've got to be hidden somewhere.
So rather than a proper telephone closet, we have a pair of metal boxes outside of our house that the telephone lines lead to. One of them contains the telephone wiring, the other seems to be where our cable company hooked up all of the house's coaxial ports.
FinneganTimothy is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 01:53 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Any chance you can contact the old owner?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 02:01 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Any chance you can contact the old owner?
I just managed to find it. It wasn't what I expected it to be.


Rather than a closet of ports, it was a set of Cat5 cables with no terminating ends. I'm going to need to get some RJ45 connectors and cable them. Since the other end of the cable is female, does this end need to be female, or can I crimp it to a male connector and put them all into a switch?
FinneganTimothy is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 02:05 PM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Old owner took hub with them. Amazon and others sell connectors male/female.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 02:10 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Yeah. I suck at cabling RJ45s, but since I'm working on my Cisco Certification currently, it'll be good practice. Thanks for the help!
FinneganTimothy is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 02:15 PM   #10
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 26,809
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2, Windows 10 Home x64



The electrician normally runs the Cat5 as part of the wiring package. They only finish the ends in the rooms the cable runs to for a nice finish look. The other ends of the cables are just bundled together for the network provider to take care of. At least the cables are there......no fun fishing wires after the house is completed.

I can't advise on the rest of your project.......I'm only familiar with common construction practices. I'm a retired carpenter.....
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 02:25 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by FinneganTimothy View Post
Rather than a closet of ports, it was a set of Cat5 cables with no terminating ends. I'm going to need to get some RJ45 connectors and cable them. Since the other end of the cable is female, does this end need to be female, or can I crimp it to a male connector and put them all into a switch?

I'd get a patch panel with more ports than the number of wires you have. 110 Punch down is quite easy once you get the color scheme figured out.

Once all the wires are laid down and the panel mounted, use short (3' or so) pre-made patch cords to go to you switch, router/modem or other devices.
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 04-18-2017, 02:32 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



And if you use a place like Monoprice, you can get everything you need for fairly cheap, including a punch tool to make it all easier.
Confounded Also is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technicolor TC8305C Ethernet ports not Responding
I have a Technicolor TC305C gateway that has great working wifi... but the ethernet ports are totally inactive. I tried to do a hard reset and simply unplugging it for a time and re plugging it in, and nothing has helped. I have all four of the ports plugged in, and have 1 brand-new cable plugged...
Vranker_Thrax Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 03-11-2015 09:40 AM
[SOLVED] my internet keep getting disconnecting connecting
Hi.I'm new on this forum.I got problem with my internet connection.It keeps dropping then connecting by itself.I cant download anything because in the middle it just drops.My connection is wireless and is cable.My other housemates who have laptops like me have no problem with connection.I took my...
jumrose123 Networking Support 52 03-21-2014 05:18 PM
Windows Xp slow boot after splash screen
After the Windows Xp splash screen I get about 30 to 40 seconds of blackness (could be more) before the cursor appears. When I start in Safe Mode it takes a long time to load mup.sys but that could just be because it's the last one to load. Here's by most recent ntbtlog.txt: Service...
Sulla Windows XP Support 5 06-17-2013 10:29 AM
Cisco 2501 Ethernet Ports
Hi, I recently purchased 3 Cisco 2501 Routers and 2 Cisco 2900 switched online to set up a lab at my home. They were the cheapest I could find and I did not think to make sure the routers had Ethernet ports but they do not. I have heard of an adapter that converts one of the serial ports to...
coryy21 Cabling and Network Cards 3 01-10-2012 10:34 AM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 09:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts