Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Cannot connect to Zyxel Router

This is a discussion on Cannot connect to Zyxel Router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to connect to a Zyxel VMG1312-B10D wireless router. However, when I type in 192.168.1.1 I get nothing.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2017, 04:10 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I am trying to connect to a Zyxel VMG1312-B10D wireless router.

However, when I type in 192.168.1.1 I get nothing.

Any ideas?

T
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2017, 11:10 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



Perhaps that is not the ip address it is set to. Did you set back to factory default? Then that ip address should work.
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 07-10-2017, 11:16 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hi GentleArrow.

I checked the ipconfig and it is correct.

Does it matter what port it is connected to.

Please see the attached photo.

T
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170707_132914.jpg
Views:	282
Size:	222.9 KB
ID:	309489  
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2017, 03:51 PM   #4
Networking Team |Tech
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi there,

Is this a new router? You can try performing a reset and see if that helps.
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.


DBCooper is offline  
Old 07-10-2017, 05:37 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Lets take a peek at your network environment:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type or copy and paste the following command:

ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0

and press enter.

Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-10-2017, 10:59 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hi Old Rich

Attached is the ipconfig file.

C:\Users\Admin>ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration
Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 3:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1dae:6d23:b1ba:e31%8
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.243
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::6231:97ff:feec:d978%8
192.168.1.1

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc8e:292c:5161:c3c2%16
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.133
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::6231:97ff:feec:d978%16
192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:78cf:34bf:3e2:3f57:fe0c
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::34bf:3e2:3f57:fe0c%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

C:\Users\Admin>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP-4L2FSMK
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 3:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-E3-47-08-62-BE
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR8172/8176/8178 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.30)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-54-A5-C7-F2-83
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1dae:6d23:b1ba:e31%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.243(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday 10 July 2017 1058
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday 10 July 2017 1158
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::6231:97ff:feec:d978%8
192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 34362533
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-20-B3-47-F5-0C-54-A5-C7-F2-83
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR956x Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 28-E3-47-08-62-BE
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc8e:292c:5161:c3c2%16(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.133(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday 10 July 2017 10:07:45
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday 10 July 2017 11:09:58
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::6231:97ff:feec:d978%16
192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 103342919
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-20-B3-47-F5-0C-54-A5-C7-F2-83
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 28-E3-47-08-AD-1E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:78cf:34bf:3e2:3f57:fe0c(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::34bf:3e2:3f57:fe0c%2(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 33554432
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-20-B3-47-F5-0C-54-A5-C7-F2-83
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

T
Attached Files
File Type: pdf IPCONFIG_ALL.pdf (199.2 KB, 10 views)
tomohawk is offline  
Old 07-11-2017, 11:26 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type or Copy and Paste the following" and press enter


echo > 0 & PING 192.168.1.1 >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0


That can take a few minutes to complete, come back and past the result in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-11-2017, 11:41 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Old Rich

I will try that in the morning (unfortunately, the device in question is not in my home).

Could this possibly be the problem? I have had a look at the user manual and it states the following:-
"In order to use the web configurator, you need to allow:-
1) Web browser pop-up windows from your VMG, web pop-up blocking is enabled by default in Windows XP SP (Service Pack 2)
2)JavaScript (enabled by default)
3) Java permissions (enabled by default"

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 07-11-2017, 12:05 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



It could . .
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-12-2017, 05:20 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Results of ping test attached.

Tommy

ECHO is on.

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
[/php]
Attached Files
File Type: txt Ping.txt (460 Bytes, 7 views)
tomohawk is offline  
Old 07-12-2017, 07:31 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You are clearly connected to the router . . either the router is failing and not responding or something is blocking it in your pc
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-12-2017, 07:50 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Old Rich

I have come to that conclusion also and thanks for your help so far.

I did not set this up initially, so don't know what approach was used (or if password change was suggested and refused)

If I reset to factory settings and make a connection from scratch again (I believe the access will be reset to admin/1234), do you know if it is the default when first connecting, to prompt for a password change (or is it manufacturer specific?)

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 07-12-2017, 07:54 AM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



It should return to the manufacturers default username and password after a reset. You can find out what that default is on the manufacturers support site
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:00 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Old Rich.

The user manual says that when you enter the default login details (it confirms it to be admin/1234), then you are presented with a change password screen. I'm assuming it will behave exactly the same if I reset.

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:06 AM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



It should . .
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-15-2017, 02:33 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



The user manual states that Java and JavaScript should be enabled and that pop-up blocking should be switched off.

I checked Internet Explorer and Java was enabled but Pop-ups were blocked. Removed the block and restarted.

Still no change. When I type in 192.168.1.1, I get a message "Can't Reach This Page".

I attach ipconfig.

I'm really struggling now. I need to change the Wi-Fi password, and if possible, the router password.

Tommy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170715_102201.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	344.9 KB
ID:	309905  
tomohawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TP-Link TL-WN723 WiFi adapter does not connect to Edimax BR62-04Wg router
Dear Tech Support! I have a TP-Link TL-WN723 USB WiFi adapter attached to my laptop, which runs WinXP Service Pack 3. It successfully detdcts the WiFi provided by my Edimax BR62-04Wg router, but when I try to connect, it cannot obtain an IP address and cannot connect to the network. Here are...
NDani Networking Support 3 03-09-2013 05:25 AM
[SOLVED] Can't connect using IP phone's built-in router
Hi, first post here. I'm having problems connecting my computer to the internet using the built-in router on a new Yealink IP phone. I have no problems when the computer is connected to a router. That's how I'm posting here now. But my router is old and has no QOS. So the sound quality is choppy...
Robinski Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 16 01-05-2013 02:52 PM
Constantly having to restart Belkin router to connect
For the past week or so I've been having trouble with my Wi-Fi connection. I have a desktop PC, a kindle and a PS3 that all connect to it. If I turn on my Kindle after it's been off for a while it'll try to connect to the Wi-Fi but will keep alternating between 'Authenticating'/'Connecting' and...
TrailingDay Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 11-16-2012 04:14 PM
zyxel 3205 won't connect to 2WIRE router
Hello - I purchased a ZyXEL 3205 to serve as a universal repeater in my house, to boost the DSL wireless signal from upstairs to downstairs. I have a 2WIRE router, and my DSL is through AT&T. The wireless works just fine (and we've been connecting multiple devices through it for over a month),...
wolfchambers Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 08-12-2011 03:37 PM
Port Forwarding on ZyXel Router to Enable XBox 360 Live to Connect. NAT is STRICT
I have a ZyXel router Model Number: P660-HW-T1 and am experiencing difficulties with the NAT settings. Specifically when I try and connect to my XBox 360 Live. The XBox tells me the NAT settings are set to strict, (and should be open). What I have done so far on the ZyXel router is enable the...
riverbird69 Console Gaming Support 8 04-18-2011 06:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts