Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Can someone help me pick a modem!!!

This is a discussion on Can someone help me pick a modem!!! within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm looking to upgrade my modem... my isp is comcast... what's a great modem with built in wifi. I don't


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2017, 05:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 10



I'm looking to upgrade my modem... my isp is comcast... what's a great modem with built in wifi. I don't care about cost either. I'm scared to buy one that they website say compatible and they flip on me... ??????Hopefully this post here catch wind and I get the best information here..

Isp: comcast
Vpn: ipvanish
Connections: all hard wired
Price range: none
Highly interest: arris surfboard sbg7580ac
hbledsoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2017, 02:16 PM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,592
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



"Arris Surfboard SBG7580AC" Good choice.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 08-29-2017, 03:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
nickh91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 10



I found Arris Surfboard SBG7580AC to be the best one available in the price range on Amazon. I have been using PureVPN on mine and if you are going to upgrade then I would recommend you to look into it. They have recently launched network level security using IDS/IPS technology along with other new features which are useful for protection.
nickh91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2017, 09:06 AM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Verify your options with the Comcast approved modems list. All brands/models are typically NOT supported.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connection between your access point, router, or cable modem & internet is broken
When I turned my laptop on today I notice the internet was going slow. It seems like the net keeps going in and out. I have wireless and I keep watching the bar drop down and back up. I unplugged the the internet modem and the wireless several times. I ran a trouble shoot and it's saying Issues...
Ms.Zombie Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 10 05-29-2013 01:19 PM
Sending of faxes has stopped working--WinXP--Agere modem
My Agere PCI SV992pp, driver: 2.1.65.0, modem will no longer completes the sending of faxes. I have a few software programs (MightyFax, FaxTalk, and the Win XP fax software), but my faxes do not get sent with any of them! Here's what happens with EACH of the faxing software: the status...
pinken0rangegal Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 04-22-2013 08:07 AM
Router and Modem does not work together in Vista
Is this a wired or wireless connection issue? Wireless How to run and post an ipconfig /all output of the computer(s) in question for review. Please follow and click the Tutorial here. Pasted at the end of the thread Who is your Internet Service Provider (ISP)? India - BSNL
AurobindoSaha Networking Support 7 02-07-2013 05:33 AM
DNS error, Modem online, no internet
I Lost my internet connection and tried to get it working. Result was a DNS error which Windows could not fix. I Suspected something was wrong with the modem and it has some guarantee left, so I took it to the store. Lightning storm had broken it and guarantee was void. Then I bought a new modem...
Telccu Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 7 08-19-2011 04:54 AM
Modem looses it settings
I have two modems connected to a firewall and the firewall connected to a switch. The modems are Billion Bipac 5112s and Innacom W3100 (both are ISP issued modems). The firewall is a fortigate 80C while the switch is a dlink 5 port switch. I use it for guest wifi in a hotel About 1 month ago, my...
jarod Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 06-16-2011 07:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts