Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Belkin 49c wireless connection

This is a discussion on Belkin 49c wireless connection within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I have been working on configuring a wireless router for a neighbor. Her system is quite a mess


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2017, 06:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Hello all,
I have been working on configuring a wireless router for a neighbor.
Her system is quite a mess consisting of:

An old Aris cable modem used solely for her digital land-line phone
A Motorola Surfboard SB6121 modem (used for Internet connection)
A line splitter used to send the service provider signal to both modems
A Belkin 49c wireless router


I have connected the Belkin router to the output of the Motorola Surfboard and have two wired computers running from the router (one running Windows Vista and the other running Windows10).
She also has a Lenova netbook (running Windows10). The Lenova can see the wireless network (Belkin.49c). However, it can't connect to it. It won't even bring up the window allowing the entry of the wireless password. Interestingly, it allows for access to other wireless networks in the area. The Lenova actually connects to both of my wireless networks without any difficulty.I was wondering if the fact that the Belkin wireless router called itself “Belkin.49c” is a problem because of the period (.) in the router name. Interestingly, it was not a problem for my Linux laptop to connect to this router.
Anyone have any ideas ?
Thanks for the help!
scitex59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2017, 08:00 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



That does not appear to be a correct setup.

Normally you have a DSL filter that splits the line to (1) a phone not a modem, (2) the internet port on the filter goes to the internet modem

I am not aware of any issues with using a period / special characters in the SSID.
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 06-20-2017, 08:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Thanks for the reply, GentleArrow.
I spoke with my neighbors ISP service representative yesterday and found that when she signed up for her service, her provider did not provide telephone service.
They sub-contracted that through another provider. Thus, she has the Aris cable modem box for her digital phone line. Crazy arrangement.
scitex59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2017, 08:16 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



I take it the wired computers work fine?

Model of the belkin?
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 06-22-2017, 08:47 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Yes! Both wired computers are working fine.
In her original configuration from her ISP, they had installed the Motorola Surfbord unit and had taken a direct coax feed from the ISP to the unit. There is only one ethernet output on this unit which they took directly to her Windows Vista machine. When she wished to use the other desktop, she would take the RJ-45/ethernet plug from the Vista computer and plug it into the Windows10 desktop.

Her ISP suggested I take the Ethernet output of the Motorala Surfboard and connect it to one of her wireless routers. This seems logical. However, I noticed that a blinking light on the Motorola Surfboard is blue (indicating high-speed connection established). When I switch the plug to the wireless router, the Surfboard modem changes to an amber light (indicating that there is an Internet connection, but not high-speed).

I tested her netbook on my wireless routers --- no problem!
I am planning to test my wireless router with her on her configuration. I believe it will result in a similar outcome. It seems the Surfboard modem does not operate well as a pass-through device.

Thanks for your input, GentleArrow.
By the way, all I know of her router is that it appears on the available wireless devices as Belkin.49c. I will get more detail on her router today.
Thanks!
scitex59 is offline  
Old 06-22-2017, 03:52 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



Actually the blue light is telling you the lan/wan connection between the two. Blue is gig and amber is 100mb.

You just have to set the wan port from auto to gig in the router, least that's what I did with mine. I did the same in the modem whose address is 192.168.100.1

Really doesn't matter since the internet connection assumedly is not above 100mb.
GentleArrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WiFi keeps disconnecting - I am close to the modem.
Hi, Since a few days ago my computer will lose connection to the wireless network and I have to plug my dongle out and back in for it to connect again. My router is in the next room and I have 3 bars now. Here is some information from windows troubleshoot about the issue: This network...
Zarek Networking Support 8 06-18-2014 01:56 PM
Can anyone help me pinpoint my wireless connection problem?
Hi everyone, I'm looking for some help figuring out what's causing some frustrating problems with my wireless connection at home. First off, the hardware details: Modem: Motorola Surfboard SB6121 Router: Medialink MWN-WAPR150N Operating system: varies; my office PC is running Windows 7, but my...
nortoons Networking Support 1 02-18-2013 01:18 AM
Intermittent connection to wireless network
I have an Intel Ultimate N WiFi Link 5300 in my laptop. I have been able to connect to other wireless networks without problems. The router running the current network I am having trouble with is a D-Link DIR655, Hardware Version: B1, Firmware Version: 2.01NA. I don't have access to the router...
li4alex Networking Support 4 02-17-2013 09:18 PM
[SOLVED] Wireless connection keeps failing repeatedly
Hi i am having problems with my wireless internet. I am using windows 7 64-bit OS and am connected to a WRG614v6 Netgear router. I will be on the internet and will have superb connection then my connection will drop, when i view the network it says that i have lost IPv4 connectivity. Pulling the...
Stimson Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 22 03-24-2011 05:57 PM
can't connect to web wireless win xp pro
here is my log. i installed a fresh xp pro got all updates and drivers as far as i know and all settings are correct. i'm currently sharing a connection with a laptop via local area connect but i still can't get on wifi on this computer.service tag is cmbq721 dell optiplex please help thanks ...
slaydoc Windows XP Support 5 03-20-2011 08:50 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts