Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Australia- Service Provider NBN modem/router to my own Router.

This is a discussion on Australia- Service Provider NBN modem/router to my own Router. within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello Folks, Finally, i got a notice that NBN broadband is now available to my address. It is fibre to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2017, 10:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 348
OS: Windows 8 Pro

My System


Hello Folks,
Finally, i got a notice that NBN broadband is now available to my address. It is fibre to the node, means Fibre would be running up to the nearby Corner and existing copper would be used to connect me to the fibre. (?).
I ordered NBN service from My Republic (service provider) and received a basic NBN ready moden/Router from them.
But I already have TP link Archer D7, which has more advanced features as router than what I received from Service provider. Archer D7 is a ADSL2+ modem/router and NBN router (not Modem).
Now, I am wondering, can i just use service providers Modem/Router only as Modem and Archer D7 as wireless router for my home network?
I mean:- Plug Archer D7 to one of the ethernet port of Service providers Modem Router.
I guess the basic question would be, Can i connect Router A to Router B and get router A to work?

Thank you
drosera01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2017, 06:53 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


There is more involved than just connecting them together, some configuration is required. And unfortunately, not all ISP provided hardware will work in this fashion. I would first contact the ISP and tell them you would like to use your own router and ask if they can provide only a modem.

As for configuration, read this sticky: https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...rs-655257.html
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bsod during Guild wars 2 session
Im having error often but only in this game. It say its a sync problem with my cpu. IM sorry in advance for the way i present the report but i could not figure out how to upload one of the file. there it is Rapport de diagnostics du système Ordinateur: JULIEN-PC Collecté: 27 août 2012...
passprogress BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 08-29-2012 09:44 AM
Internet won't work after combo fix
Hi, had a google redirect virus. ran multiple malware programs, antimalware bytes, spybot, and a few cleaners but no success. ran combo fix and now I don't have internet. here is log file ComboFix 12-04-24.05 - Amanda 04/24/2012 23:44:10.1.4 - x86 Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium ...
jenningsfamily Resolved HJT Threads 52 05-17-2012 08:38 AM
Virus/Trojan/spyware
I keep getting popups telling me to scan my computer, it's infected with trojans and malware. I didn't click on anything but I really don't know how long this has been happing because my grandaughter and husband use the computer everyday. My husband told me he was getting pop ups and that we needed...
kmel2u Resolved HJT Threads 29 12-18-2011 08:23 PM
[SOLVED] CPU always working at 13/16%.
Hi. My cpu is always at 13/16%. I have checked for viruses malware with kaspersky and windows defender but dont found nothing. I also checked with HJT but dont found nothing bad there. What can be this? I am still very noob tech. Here is my HJT log.
wolfvt13 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 01-01-2011 08:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts