Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Advice/Guidance for large family Router/Network

996 views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  TheCyberMan 
#1 ·
Hi, new to the forum so Hi to everyone :smile:

I have basic knowledge of IT but none of Routers/Networking etc so please be gentle.....

In recent months with the family all growing up the internet usage in our house has increased greatly and we are finding running all our devices is getting more difficult.

I purchased an Air Airport Express to try and ease the work on my very basic router (Free Talk Talk one that we got about 2 years ago) but this has not really helped, so I decided that we need to purchase a better router to handle the useage but that is where I got lost and hope that you guys can give me some help/advice.

There are six people in our house, me, my wife and four teenage boys (who all have several devices: xbox, ipod, ipad, pc's etc not forgetting their mobile phones) and when we try and get them to switch their wifi off it's like talking to a brick wall..!

So, a few pointers that might help you professionals guide me.

My Download Speed is 5.8 mb/s
My Upload Speed is 0.595 mb/s

6 users - Running 3 items each (rough guide)

Do I need to get a powerful Router?

Do I need to set up a Network? If so is that easy to do?

Any help would be gratefully received as it is driving me mad that sometimes I cannot get on the internet and I pay the bill..!! :angry:

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi and welcome to TSF,

You already have a network as you have an ADSL modem/router and then have i assume wired and wireless devices which connect to it so there is your network.

I notice you have xboxe's i assume maybe you have several you can confirm so online gaming is a must and is a bandwidth eater.

I think the first thing to look at is what you are going to be using your internet connection for.