Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Adding Wi-Fi to a Router

This is a discussion on Adding Wi-Fi to a Router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am getting internet installed at my apartment but the package I am going for only comes with a router


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2016, 09:44 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I am getting internet installed at my apartment but the package I am going for only comes with a router WITHOUT Wi-Fi.

Is there a simple add-on, or am I better going for a new wi-fi router altogether.

T
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2016, 10:01 AM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,131
OS: Windows 10


I can't believe there's such a service package! Oh well, you could just purchase a wireless router and add to the installation. It is the simple add-on.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-23-2016, 07:45 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Stancestans

The signal apparently is delivered via the coax TV cable.

When buying a wireless router/modem, what rear connection type should I describe to shop assistant.

Also, I'm never sure whether to refer to it as a "router" or a "modem".

Which is correct terminology?

T
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2016, 08:32 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,131
OS: Windows 10



That "router without wifi" is most likely a cable modem, in which case you'd just need a wireless router with a WAN port which is pretty much standard on wireless routers.

We could do with additional info such as: who is your service provider and what's the make and model of the "router without wifi" and any other equipment that came with the package.

Cable internet usually includes a modem/router combo unit (it's both a router and cable modem, that is, 2-in-1), often supplied by the service provider (leased) or self-sourced (if service provider supports it). Cable tv + internet equipment are provided by the service provider, so if your package is both tv and internet, I'd expect it to include a cable modem/router combo.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-23-2016, 11:46 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Stancestans

I don't have the info you requested, but anyway, I will have to buy my own in order to get wi-fi.

What connection type should I specify?

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 04-23-2016, 11:49 AM   #6
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,131
OS: Windows 10


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomohawk View Post
Thanks
What connection type should I specify?
T
WAN
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 02:37 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thank you
tomohawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TWO ROUTER ONE (ISP ROUTER) SECOND ASUS ROUTER DDWWRT ) WANT TO BE ABLE TO VPN TO SEC
Hello i need help please if anyone would be so happy to give step by step help here ! ok i have two router one main ISP router with a local ip address range of 192.168.1.1(D link with stock firmware) and then i have a second router which is Asus Router with custom DD-WRT firmware(v24-sp2...
drakester18 Protocols and Routing 12 03-19-2015 02:46 PM
After CCNA
I'm looking to get into networking. I was at university for a few years, but left after discovering that my uni doesn't teach real skills. I started CCNA last year and am nearly done with it. At the moment I've just started a very nice service support tech role, my first job in the industry. ...
IainND Certification & Career 20 12-19-2012 07:00 AM
Adding a 2nd router to home network
I have currently have a DLink DI-704UP as the home router for 4 computers. I want to add a Wi-Fi router to the network so i can use the Wi-Fi. I have connected it directly to the modem and so i know it works properly. The router i want to add is a DLink DIR-300. When i connect it to the...
TrisXD Networking Support 0 01-15-2011 03:20 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts