Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

Abnormal ping with Cable internet?

This is a discussion on Abnormal ping with Cable internet? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, around a year ago I switched from ADSL to a cable ISP and from the time I switched


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2017, 11:10 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 10



Hi guys, around a year ago I switched from ADSL to a cable ISP and from the time I switched until now my pings shot up to, at least what I would consider, bizarrely high levels. The thing is my connection isn't erratic or do I receive lag spikes or anything of that nature but instead I'm at a constant high ping 100% of the time.

For example, if I were to play a round of counter-strike with friends who live in same city as myself who have a different internet type, either fibreop or adsl, when we find a mutual server to join they would normally have pings of ~35-50 on average while mine level out between ~115-130 and most of the times I usually have the highest ping on the server. Most other games I'm in the same boat regardless of server location.

From my understanding cable internet generally has higher pings than ADSL or Fibreop however I'm unsure if the difference should be to the extent I'm experiencing it.

Here are the results of a speedtest I just ran: Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results

I'm definitely not well versed in the nuances of internet providers, but is this kind of ping normal? The host server I used for the speedtest was located in my city and essentially any other server just yields higher pings. Any suggestions on how I could remedy this issue or detect if there are any issues with my modem, hardware etc.. or is this is just normal behavior for cable internet?
Thanks in advance

Relevant information Modem is a HITRON CGN3ACSMR and I'm directly plugged in via ethernet cable. ISP is Rogers
suckasurprise is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2017, 11:15 AM   #2
Networking Team |Tech
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi there,

Real quick, when you were using ADSL, was it the same ISP?
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.


DBCooper is offline  
Old 01-16-2017, 11:18 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by DBCooper View Post
Hi there,

Real quick, when you were using ADSL, was it the same ISP?
I was with a different ISP, Bell Aliant.
suckasurprise is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2017, 02:39 AM   #4
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


from a command prompt type tracert www.yahoo.com
post the results, have you tried running speedtest on any different servers?
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 02-07-2017, 11:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 258
OS: Windows 7



Can you give a game you play as a example? My guess is you're seeing a combo of the increase in latency of broadband vs DSL and congestion issues between your old and new ISP. Broadband uses bigger "pipes" but allow more people to go on them at one time, and use traffic shaping to give certain traffic different priority. If you really want to see what your latency is like, try with TCP instead of ICMP. You don't need to know what that means, just that it's a more accurate way of testing for latency. See here for instructions.

If your not interested in that depth, +1 for posting a tracert to yahoo.com to start.
Deleted 03/18/17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
url:mal virus
I am in need of expert assistance in removal the nemesis virus "url:mal" . I've also seen pop up from Avast blocking "url:mal2". I tried running gmr and something prevents it from completion, so I'm not sure if it will give you the data you need:sad: Thanks in advance.:bang head: Dell...
Larry Crooms Resolved HJT Threads 35 01-14-2014 04:16 AM
Selection Links
Hi, I've ended up with Selection Links attached to Google Chrome. I've tried to remove it in the usual, low-tech savvie ways and it's not worked. It is not listed in the Programs and Features/Uninstall a Program section of the Control Tab. Under Chrome Extensions, it is listed but...
mthwrd Resolved HJT Threads 42 04-05-2013 06:36 PM
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 08:33 PM
Computer Virus/Trojan Problems
Amateur. First may I thank you for responding to my request for help. I have compiled the following List of Problems that I am aware of on my computer. Windows is being stopped from updating. Trend Micro is being stopped from updating.
Jack Willday Inactive Malware Help Topics 65 07-13-2011 12:57 AM
Antivira AV virus - Help appreciated
Hi there My pc picked up a nasty virus called Antivira AV rendering it pretty much useless. Itís a bogus virus scanner that automatically seems to close down Windows Defender and take over. I canít use Internet Explorer and also canít go in the Task Manager, when I press Ctrl alt delete it...
Jvdbliek Resolved HJT Threads 18 03-03-2011 09:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts