Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

User Tag List

A modem question

This is a discussion on A modem question within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello dues how are you??? I just got a new cable modem.... An ARRIS modem and the setting is on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2017, 09:58 PM   #1
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 647
OS: Windows


Hello dues how are you???

I just got a new cable modem.... An ARRIS modem and the setting is on 802.11 B/G/N and my other cable modem that went bad on me (Locked up and didnt come back) was set to B and G and it was slower (SMC router) so i changed it to B mode only and it was faster....... I want to do the same with this arris modem....

I have read that N supports the fastest speeds so if I put it on N only would it work ok?


I have been modifying it a little,disabling things I dont have,etc to make it faster........

It worked on the SMC router,would it work on this also?? (Seems stupid having it on B/G/N when I have B and it seems setting it to 1 setting (N) would be better (Like with the SMC))


Thanx guys.........
Dude111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2017, 07:59 AM   #2
Networking Team |Tech
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi there,

What with the model of your ARRIS modem? I believe you don't need to put the modem on "N" transmit frequency because that new ARRIS modem you just received is compatible with devices that supports all three frequencies. Technically, yes, N is the fastest as it transfer data at speeds of 300Mbps.

Here's an article with regards to the info on the frequency speeds = https://turbofuture.com/computers/Th...now-about-WIFI
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.


DBCooper is offline  
Old 06-16-2017, 08:39 AM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Both, the old and the new, should function on all of their supported bands. Turning a band off won't increase the speed of another band. And the only reason it may make a device "faster", is if the device is negotiating to use the slower band. Shutting off the slower band then forces the device to use a different band. In which case, you should likely troubleshoot to find out what's causing the device to use the slower band. It's usually a matter of interference or signal strength.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2017, 04:28 PM   #4
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 647
OS: Windows


Well I only have a B adapter and YES when I disabled G on the SMC router it was faster... (Put it on B only mode (Instead of B/G))

This one I cant do JUST B but I can do ONLY N but I dont know if it will still recieve my 2400Mhz traffic on N mode....... (I dont wanna try it and be cut off w/o being able to get it back ya know guys? (uugghh))

Thanx guys!!
Dude111 is offline  
Old 06-17-2017, 03:35 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If you have a device using B, then you can't turn off B. In other words, if you switch it to "N" only, you will only get the "N" band, "B" will not work. Options to disable bands are for security, not speed.

Assuming your testing on the old hardware was valid, then that was an issue with that particular router. Each band has a supported speed, and any router should be able to support all of the bands (supported by that model) at the same time.

> wifi info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-17-2017, 10:28 PM   #6
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 647
OS: Windows


Well thank you Jim,it seems to be OK for the most part.....

The lady @ TWC said the modem they would give me would be BETTER than the SMC one and I guess it is... (But If i could put it in B mode only it would be nice seeing if it responded even better)

I dont know much about these things...... I can configure certain things in the menu but I dont know much... (My PCX5000 modem was the easiest to manage for me and the SMC wasnt too hard either)

Like how do you set your own DNS servers in this modem?? (I looked but it doesnt say in that menu)
Dude111 is offline  
Old 06-21-2017, 09:50 AM   #7
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Most ISP provided hardware is limited in what you are allowed to configure. I don't have TWC and I've not used an SMC, so I don't know what you can change.

And just as an FYI, what you are referring to as a "modem", is actually a modem/router combo unit. Modems have nothing that is user configurable. You simply connect it, and power it on. Everything mentioned in this topic is related to the router portion or the hardware.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-21-2017, 12:02 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



Why do folks call routers modems? They are very different animals.
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 06-21-2017, 11:15 PM   #9
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 647
OS: Windows


Im sorry GentleArrow...... Thank you Jim!!


I read somewhere that N can also run in 2400Mhz ... I disabled 5000Mhz (N band) in my modem because I dont want the added signal bombarding me when I dont even use it..... (Already subjected to enough RF now as it is)
Dude111 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent Wired and wireless issues, could be modem?
Is this a wired or wireless connection issue? Both Who is your Internet Service Provider (ISP)? UK Providers - Virgin Media What type of Broadband connection are you using? Cable
Morgiee101 Networking Support 3 06-03-2017 05:08 PM
getting this yellow question mark over my pci modem plz help?
okay so i try to reinstall it but its asks for the driver which i dont knw ..here is my pci modem detail...PCI\VEN_2000&DEV_2000&SUBSYS_2001163C&REV_02\4&2E98101C&0&08F0 plz tell which drivers i need to make it rite?
ghazi096 Driver Support 6 12-04-2011 06:30 AM
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
Windows 7 freezes at startup (HiJack This Log)
Out of the blue my Windows 7 x64 laptop started having problems. Every time I boot it will get to the desktop and LOOK fine, but if I try to open anything it is completely unresponsive. Eventually it will notify me that Windows is not responding and offer to restart or wait. If I restart the...
slhaas Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 08-01-2011 12:29 PM
Wireless modem restart & config question
Hi I've forgotten my wireless modem password and I need to restart it to reconfigure its password.But I'm not familiar with basic configurations of my modem and I'm afraid I could not configure it to connect to internet again! could you help me with the settings i need to know to make it connect...
khashayaar Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 03-12-2011 11:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts