Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Other Operating systems

User Tag List

Some questions regarding a raspberry pi

This is a discussion on Some questions regarding a raspberry pi within the Other Operating systems forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I decided to try and make a video game emulation station and a media station with raspberry pi. I'm

Closed Thread

Old 07-02-2014, 09:17 PM   #1
Registered Member

So I decided to try and make a video game emulation station and a media station with raspberry pi. I'm choosing to use OpenElec for the media and Retro Pie and installing EmulationStation on to it.

Now some questions I have are:

Will the raspberry pi be able to handle multiple operating systems on it? I don't want then to run at the same time I just wish to dual boot it.

Also since I'm pretty new with this how would one go about "dual booting" a raspberry pi if I'm able to?

I plan on using raspberry pi's New Out Of Box Software (NOOBS) to install OpenELEC but since RetroPie doesn't come on that software will I still be able to dual boot? or would I be better off installing each separately?

Can I use a usb controller for the emulators providing the emulators support using a controller.

Will I be able to use a wireless usb network adapter? (I have one laying around that supports linux I'm guessing the answer to this is yes i just wanted to make sure)

Another question that the answer is most likely yes to but can I use my portable hard drive to watch movies or listen to music from?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-03-2014, 05:30 AM   #2
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Hi,

This is a rather interesting project, with a number of tasks, that you want to do. I will start by answering the easy questions first and work from there.

Quote: